A little unplanned blogging sabbatical…

Howdy! Wow–it’s been just about a month since I posted last! The break was not intentional, but things have been pretty crazy around here, and I do have a day job. 🙂

From the Ministerial Conference (which was “live tweeted” by LCG here, by the way!) after the Council of Elders meeting to the Creation Weekend our local congregation hosted a week-or-so ago, things have been pleasantly busy! And, as an old man says in a movie I know, “I’m blessed with work.” So, my family is learning to enjoy life at a “normal” pace, again–at least until camps start for us next month! Then it will be “crazy day” again, and happily so.

So, the blogging may have fallen off of a cliff, but it has been productive time. And even though my tweeting wasn’t exactly prolific, I did do some microblogging on my Twitter account over the course of the month.

I am trying to step up my writing for our publications and have multiple projects in the works, which may make for a natural drain on blogging. And, really, one of the reasons I began blogging was just to keep myself in a “writing mode” between projects. If the projects increase, it’s only natural that this exercise decrease.

Though I have taken a sabbatical from blogging about things, all of those “things” have certainly continued going on. Politicians continue acting like politicians. Incompetent world “leaders” continue “leading.” Hollywood continues to be nauseating. Math continues to be fascinating. Self-deluded non-prophets continue hallucinating and listening to the whispers of their personal demons. My kids continue to grow taller than I am. My Beautiful Wife continues to be beautiful, inside and out. The Work of God continues to accelerate, and the world continues to grow increasingly in need of its message.

So, although this is sort of a meta-post, I anticipate doing a “normal” post in the not-too-distant future. In the meantime, feel free to sit back. Relax. Get some Starbucks. Read a magazine. Watch some TV. Check out some short videos on the Internet. Do some online shopping. Whatever floats your boat. 🙂

5 thoughts on “A little unplanned blogging sabbatical…

  1. You never need to explain yourself on this subject, but when you do, even your going “meta” is always worth reading. 😀

    PLEASE, for the sake of the rest of us, keep your death grip on “the trunk of the tree” so you may always “branch out” the way you do for us! You are more valued than you may know.

    I wanted to encourage you further in the opportunities God is granting you in our Work and was going to transcribe the Priestly Blessing from Numbers 6:22-27, but I thought of a better way… 😉

  2. Norbert

    I frequently listen to authors interviewed about their books and as a group are very passionate about writing as an important form of communication. Kurt Vonnegut went so far as to mention that he understood two languages, English and the second was written English. The latter of which he was more fluent in.

    Isn’t “writing mode” something akin to riding a bike or tying up shoe laces? Or does it have more to do with the expression ‘if you don’t use it, you lose it’ and in that case needs to be exercised?

  3. I, for one, am happy to know that I am in lively company, and that not finding the time to blog is acceptable. But while waiting for you to send out a message, I will follow Mario Hernandez’s advice and read and study the Psalms.
    ~Rita Haynes Florida follower

  4. obeirne

    Welcome back, Mr. Smith! You were certainly missed big-time when you were AWOL. 😉 Obviously you are excused since you must have a serious work-load and we understand that you mustn’t slacken off. I’m certainly looking forward to your next missive and I have no doubt it will be interesting. May God be with you and yours for the upcoming Sabbath and the Day of Pentecost. And, to quote an ancient Irish saying, may God bless the Work! 🙂

What are you thinking?

