How did you observe Thanksgiving?

Well, I know that I already posted this morning, debunking more Alexa silliness as a follow up on my previous post on Alexa silliness, but I would like to post on something more positive today.

I am glad that we spend Thanksgiving yesterday in my family in a manner related to the purpose of the day, though I can’t take credit for it. Of course we ate — and a feast it was, indeed! And in the past I have tried to do things like read Lincoln’s Thanksgiving proclamation and the statements of other presidents. As I always try to do, I thanked God for the faith and obedience of Abraham, which — as we know — is so much more important to the success of this country than delusions of our “superiority” as a people. Our success is rooted in God’s faithfulness, not ours.

But my mother-in-law had the foresight to ask each of our four boys to write up their thoughts on ten things they, personally, were thankful and to do so in the form of a written prayer. Then, yesterday, with the spirit of the day in mind, she had each of them read those thoughts for all of us. It was very moving, and I really enjoyed getting some insight into my children’s priorities and what means the most to them at this stage in their individual lives.

And, since I had my own thoughts on the subject recently, I was able to respond by reading my “I am thankful” blog post.

It was very pleasant and very appropriate. Then, in addition to such meaningful activities, we enjoyed a little “vegetable” time catching up on a few commonly enjoyed television programs. (We enjoy our shallow times as well as our deep ones. 🙂 )

So, what did you and yours do for Thanksgiving? Do you have any particular personal or family traditions? Did you do anything differently? Feel free and let me know below, and, for all those who know the blessing it represents, have a wonderful Sabbath tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “How did you observe Thanksgiving?

  1. I usually join a certain family by invitation for Thanksgiving dinner. The patriarch is the only Church member besides some few of his guests, but he has a very fine family.

    These past two years I’ve taken pains not only to look up President Lincoln’s Thanksgiving Proclamation, but his proclamation of a National Day of Fasting. The second was largely in thanks for answers to prayers made in the first. I want to remember both lessons – lessons which alike are increasingly forgotten in America.

  2. Steve

    Spent a very pleasant afternoon with extended family. Did some reading on the hardships of that first little colony, and how that small seed grew into a powerful nation. We’re truly blessed.

What are you thinking?

