Quick note of absence

Just a quick note to say that my family and I find ourselves unexpectedly in Lancaster, Texas this week, so any comments to the blog may take a bit longer before they are moderated. It seems that this has been quite a year for my family tree to be pruned… My dad died yesterday morning due to complications from pneumonia and, indirectly, challenges he had experienced since a head injury some months ago.

What a treasure to know the truth! Knowing the plan of God is an incredible comfort, indeed (cf. 1 Thess. 4:13), and I look forward to that coming age in which those who spent their entire lives under the “veil” will have it removed.

Visitation will be tonight and there will be a very brief service on the grounds of the veterans’ cemetery tomorrow morning. After taking care of a few things here and a short 15-hour drive back, we should be home again in Ohio this weekend! Until then, my apologies if moderation is spotty.

In the meantime, if there are any burglars out there excited about robbing our home because you read here on the Internet that we’re not home, I should warn you: My father-in-law and mother-in-law are still home at the house, and my father-in-law fights dirty. Plus our cat is still home, and she will totally get hair all over your burglar clothes. Then there’s our ferrets, and I don’t want to describe what they will do, but trust me: you won’t want to be around. So Smith/Riggs Manor is still very secure.

My apologies if my attempt at humor while I am here for my father’s funeral seems odd. It’s how I cope. At least it’s all natural and drug free! 🙂 Plus, we drove all night to get here so I’m probably a little loopy. I’m sure more sensible posts will resume…eventually. Until then, hug your loved ones, mend your fences, and build your bridges instead of burning them! Not only is time short, but in numerous ways it rarely fails to be even shorter than we think it is.

About to lapse into a welcome nap! See you again soon…

20 thoughts on “Quick note of absence

  1. Brian L

    My condolences for your loss. I am sure you will find comfort in the Scriptures and from the Holy Spirit as well as with your family (ies). The loss is still real and I will pray for you.

  2. May God”d peace be with you today and may you find peace in your knowledge of God and His love forou and your family. What a blessing to wake up to see the Lords face looking down on you. God bless you nd be with you always.
    YSIC
    Pat

  3. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Yep. ENTP-style “coping” humor, regarding what one personally values. Don’t worry, you’re normal. 😀

  4. Michele Fritts

    Our love to you and your family. I can appreciate your humor in this difficult time…as it will certainly help with the coping and make it possible to clearly see God’s marvelous plan for all of our loved ones in the future. I look forward to the day I get to meet and know your father. Warmest regards, Michele Fritts

  5. I clicked before thinking. You have my thoughts and prayers for this time. We all know the short time before he is resurrect. Still you miss them when they are gone. I am sure you have many warm memories to keep that spot in your heart warm.

  6. Sorry to hear about the loss of your father. No matter how tired my Dad was, I could always hit him up for a game of catch, and I’ll never forget that about him. You probably have strong memories of your father. Thankfully, we’ll see them again.

  7. Thomas

    My sincere condolences to you and your family on the loss of your father. Even knowing the Truth, the loss of someone near and dear, whether long expected or suddenly, out of the blue, can leave a hole in our lives that only time can heal. The Bible itself acknowledges this fact with various Biblical patriarchs going into mourning over the loss of loved ones. It’s not wrong to feel the pain of loss, but knowing the Truth can moderate that pain and determine how we heal, and what sort of scar such a life changing event leaves on us – who we will be going forward from this event.

    As I look back to the loss of my own father two decades ago, it was certainly a shock to the system for a young man still looking to find his feet in life. A lesson in my own mortality. Time has healed the pain and shock of loss (and yes, at the time I did know the Truth). I look forward to one day being re-united with him, and telling him (God willing) that all the lessons and values he took such pains to try to instill in me as youngster did bear fruit, because God Himself saw something there that He could use, and blessed his legacy.

    Hope there is something useful to you in these thoughts at this time. Again, my sincere condolences to you and your family. You are in my prayers.

  8. Teri Neuman

    So very sorrow for your loss and your pain, you and your family are in my prayers, may GOD’s mercy lift you up at this time, with brotherly love, your sister in Christ,Teri Neuman,Ocean Springs, Ms

  9. Very sorry for your loss, Mr. Smith. I was just pondering that this winter will make twenty years since my own Father’s death, and I still miss him dearly… seems like yesterday. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Warm Regards,
    Deano

  10. Steven

    Mr. Smith, I would like to take this opportunity to extend my sincerest condolences to both you and your family. I pray that the Lord with remember your father in His kingdom.

  11. Norbert

    I’m sorry to here about your loss. Despite the gospel, I have found such things still cause grief. Which is also why there is a need to look for something more permanent, such as what the gospel proclaims.

  12. Howdy, everyone, and thanks much for all of your kind words. I was afraid it would come across as self-serving to make such a post as this, yet when part of your life is lived online, it also seems a bit weird not to mention it. (All the more when it was going to affect comment moderation; I didn’t want anyone to think they were sitting out there “unapproved” due to offense!) Your words mean so much, and I greatly appreciate your effort to provide loving comfort. The plan of God revealed through Jesus Christ and the truth of the general resurrection and the White Throne Judgment means all the more to the many of us who, like many of you, have so many they look forward to seeing again.

    Thank you, again, so very much.

    Warm regards,
    Wallace Smith

What are you thinking?

