Unleavened Bread Lessons for 2012

As I have done past years [EDIT: Which can be seen here — WGS], I thought I would list some of the lessons I learned from “deleavening” our home and property this year. I like to emphasize that the physical act of removing the leaven from our homes and eat unleavened bread every day is meant to teach us spiritual truths about the removal of sin and the taking in of righteousness (cf. 1 Corinthians 5:6-8), and noting these lessons down in writing has always been a help for me.

[I would love to have done this earlier, but the pace of life has been terrifyingly fast these days! Much to do, much to do, much to do… 🙂 But this will be a nice break, though I may be a bit brief.]

The lessons, actually, came fast and furious this year, but I will restrict myself to some of those that came to mind while cleaning my car, several of which involved money (oddly enough, referred to as “bread” in days long gone by!).

I vacuumed our van–which was filthy with crumbs and bread-bits, by the way!–at the local car wash. While getting between the chair and the console (yuck! that was bad…), I noticed two pennies that I didn’t want to suck up (money is money!), so I put the vacuum nozzle aside and reached with my fingers, trying to get them out of the space before I cleaned it. It was hard (space was very narrow), but I eventually got them out and continued.

This hit me in two ways:

  • How often do we put off repenting of sin because we’re afraid of losing money or a paycheck?
  • How often do we get our priorities out of whack when we address our lives? In this case, I spent about 15 seconds removing those two pennies while the vacuum hose–for which I had paid 75¢ for about 3 minutes’ worth of cleaning–sat idle. That means that while I struggled to “rescue” 2¢ I lost about 6¢, for a net loss of 4¢. I’d have been better off sucking up the two pennies!

Back to money, I did collect a lot of coins in cleaning up the car–a lot more than I would have anticipated and not all of which was in in accessible nooks but, rather, was fairly accessible but which had gone unnoticed while we were living our life. Some of it was all gathered together waiting to be found, such as the “stash” that had built up under the rubber covering of the van cup holder, which was “crummy” as all get out. (Do people still say “as all get out” today? For the record, I do.)

And from this I thought…

  • Ridding our lives of the baggage of sin is often so much more “profitable” than we anticipated that it would be. Sometimes that profit is literal, such as in leaving a job due to Sabbath conflicts and finding another job we never would have considered that pays more or gives better benefits. But the greater profit is spiritual. Christ tells us that His burden is lighter than the one we bear without him (Matt. 11:28-30), and it truly is. In the end, though we do experience temporary losses in this life there is no true loss in ridding ourselves of sin and embracing the Way of God and Jesus Christ, only eternal gain (cf. Luke 17:33, Matt. 19:29).

Speaking of the cup holder, as I was cleaning up the area between our front seats (the home of much crummy, bready nastiness, to be sure) between the console and the cup holder, I kept noticing a sharp scratching against my right forearm. And it wasn’t just a feeling, it was the real deal. Here’s some of the aftermath:

Picture of some scratches on my arm.
A few scratches on my arm (sorry if this is gross to look at). Coloration here, by the way, is due to the app I chose for the picture, Hipstamatic, which imitates (to a degree) the style of late 60s cameras and which I've been enjoying of late.

Horrific, huh? Well, OK… not horrific. But, still, it stung! What was the offending item? It was hard to find! I eventually noticed what looked like a tip of a little wire sticking out from the bottom of the cup holder. I tried pulling it out (sticking myself a few times in the process), but it wouldn’t budge much. That’s when I pulled off the rubber cover to the cup holder and found…

Straight pin I found in my car
My tormentor, the straight pin of doom.

I recognized it as one of my wife’s straight pins, which had likely fallen out of something we had in the car, finding its way under the rubber covering of the cup holder and, now, into my flesh.

And the lesson from this?

  • Ahhh… Actually, I’l let you decide. Yes, a couple of thoughts came to mind at the time, but I’d be interested in hearing yours! If you have one, leave it down below.

I’m not trying to take the easy way out, here — just that (1) I’d be interested to know what sort of “getting rid of sin” analogies you might come up with for this, and (2) I have left over Chipotle for lunch sitting upstairs waiting for me, and suddenly continuing to type on this post sounds less attractive. (No, seriously, it’s more (1) than (2)…) And in addition to lessonifying my experience, feel free to add any lessons you believe you learned from you own experience, as well. [EDIT: And your patience will be appreciated if your comment sits in the moderation queue for a while until I get to approving it! Thanks! 🙂 — WGS]

I hope the rest of your Days of Not-Fluffy-In-Any-Way Bread go well!

15 thoughts on “Unleavened Bread Lessons for 2012

  1. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Better the Straight Pin of Doom than the Taskmaster’s Whips of Egypt. Hey, maybe there’s a lesson for you. 😀

    (1 Corinthians 5:8 KJV) Therefore let us keep the feast, not with old leaven, neither with the leaven of malice and wickedness; but with the unleavened bread of sincerity and truth.

    VINCENT’S WORD STUDIES:
    Bengel observes: “Sincerity takes care not to admit evil with the good; truth, not to admit evil instead of good.”

  2. As I attempted to de-leaven my car I wasn’t able to extract every crumb as I wanted to do.I could see them but nothing I had would reach them.
    I thought about what you say over these days and realized it takes alot more work on ourself to EXTRACT SIN, especially hidden sins, like those crumbs I couldn’t get to.
    It took the air compressor to blow the crumbs out to remove them finally. But I WORKED at it..and just like I am working on my own spiritual de-leavening.

  3. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us.
    In your situation with the pin….I think of how sin in us will and can hurt those who are around us….I also thought of how sometimes if we have sin the damage is being done to ourselves and we just can’t quite figure out what it is that is making us hurt or sick…..I have a lesson I would like to share after lunch! 🙂

  4. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    For myself and leaven, the best defense is a good offense – I make sure I eat and store leavened products (and baking soda for cleaning and water softening) only in very specific and designated areas. That saves a lot of time when I do the apartment-wide search. There’s an analogy with sin here: we do better when we prevent sin from getting lodged into odd corners in the first place. I haven’t found anything really large of leavening or of a leavened product unexpectedly, ever, in over 30 years, and my strategy of “preventative medicine” is the major reason why. In the same way, the problem with me and sin is not usually that I have big hidden sins; the problem is usually that they’re big, open but ignored sins, like the proverbial elephant in the room.

  5. I take care to make sure that all the leavening agents that I want to use, are used up on the day before Passover except what we will eat on the day of, before the NTBO. Last week on Tuesday, I made biscuits…..well Thursday came, and I knew with the meals we had planned, those would not be used so I threw them out in a pasture by the house for the birds to eat…..Well everyday this week I have had to either take one of them out of my chihuahua’s mouth and get rid of it or find it in her bed and get rid of it! There were 6 biscuits in all and she has found all but one….. Many thoughts come to me when I think of these events…..I was so anxious to get rid of the biscuits and instead of thinking it through, I gave them to the birds, which isn’t wrong but what I didn’t expect is for the bread to sneak back into the house……That was the main lesson….No matter how you try physically to rid yourself of sin, it can and will find a way to sneak back in. That is such a revelation to understand….We have to be on guard at all times and WATCH everything very closely or that sin will come right back in and be harder to get rid of the next time. I understand this is a personal lesson for me but I am praying that somehow someone else can also benefit from this experience. Thanks again for the post. 🙂

  6. To give a personal example of your third lesson, I’ve been battling a chronic illness for several years now with meds and decided this year to attempt to control it through diet. The diet was a fairly major change for me, and the various “-free” labels to the diet (gluten-free, dairy-free, etc.) came at a far greater expense than our grocery budget normally was.

    Yet as I slowly built up the habit of being on the diet, my health outside of the illness has greatly improved, I’ve lost weight that had been hanging around for years, and even my allergies seem to be abating. On top of that, the expensive aspect of the diet has forced us to do more cooking and baking at home, which has actually lowered our grocery (and eating out) expenses quite a bit. My wife and I are cooking all sorts of new recipes with ingredients that will save us money for years to come. I’ve been forced to take my lunch most every day (I know, boo-hoo for me), which saved additional $$$ and had savings in other areas that were completely unexpected. Not only have we been able to save up for travel expenses for a family wedding this summer, but we’ve been able to throw money at other maintenance projects around the house as well in what would normally be a tight year for us.

    But the best parts were the growth in self-control and having the ability to say no to bad habits that have been plaguing me for years, which have caused guilt to build up, affecting my prayer life and relationship with God. My doctor keeps removing things from my diet, which continues to test my willpower (caffeine was taken out the week of Daylight Saving Time, ), but I’m amazed at how much easier it is these days. When you begin to see that you’re able to handle tests you weren’t able before, at least in my case, it equates to more faith in God. Those are the kinds of things that are certainly unquantifiable when cleaning our lives up, even from something simple like food.

    (And yes, being gluten-free makes the Days of Unleavened Bread seem like you’re not giving up much… Bagels and donuts at work? Ha!) 🙂

  7. I went home for Passover. I had just lost a job here and was anxious to go home and spend time with brethern in Lawrenceburg and in Athens. I was apparently not as careful and in a rush so when I returned I found some of that leaven stuff lurking around, got rid of it. As I did the more thourogh search of the house I thought about the mind and things lurking in there from the past, my past. At home I mended a fence or two in my deleavening effort. Still there were some things digging at me back there in the part of the brain that is like trying to get under the seat of a car and clean it out. Working on getting rid of that as well. The rushing around to get to somewhere caused me to be lacking in other areas. I think I will do now and in the year ahead of me like someone else. A place for everything and everything in it’s place. Sin being the ugly critter it is, can hide in the crevices of the mind just like crumbs in the car, it will show it’s self, it will resist being gotten rid of and it acts like it has claws to hang in the mind with, thank God for prayer, study and ministers with sermons and good posts. Thank God He is loving and merciful and oh yes, forgiving when we repent.

  8. What I gleaned from your absolutely horrendous tale of the PIN OF DOOM was, that the harder and deeper we have to go to find sin, the more apt we are to experience hurt. Sin has a way of hiding it’s true effects on us, and it is not until we strive to remove it that we realize how much it is not only lodged, but that when it gets that deeply entrenched, chances are good it’s going to sting for awhile when you work to remove it. We often have no idea how we have been hurt by something, and like the pin, once discovered, we end up saying ” so THAT’S what it was”.

  9. Christine Featherston

    On Sunday we went into a store and there was a lady who was handing out samples; my husband not thinking accepted the sample from her and tasted the dip she had piled on top. As I came around the corner and saw what he had I made that little cough sound we often make when attempting to get someone’s attention. All I said was, “I bet there’s leavening in that there cracker, whatcha wanna bet.” I thought he was going to drop the whole thing right there on the floor, lol. He thanked me! I could see on his face that he was really upset with himself. As we shopped we were both very aware of everything that went into the cart; it was a combined effort. It reminded me that we as brothers and sisters can knowingly and sometimes unknowingly keep each other out of dangerous situations where sin abounds and Satan lies in wait to attack. Deleavening our lives is very personal, others cannot remove sin from our lives we are must tackle that alone with God’s help; however, often we can help others to stand strong, to avoid the areas where they could stumble. Sometimes it is through prayer and sometimes it’s through the things we share that later come to mind just in the nick of time.

  10. I was actually thinking along the same lines Chris was. It was your wife’s pin, she did not put it there intentionally, so she unintentionally hurt you, and sometimes our sins have hurt not just ourselves but others as well even though that was not our intention.

  11. Being a fan of sourdough bread, I keep thinking about the leaven that floats in the air. For example, if you had a bad day at the office, then you might erupt at some minor infraction, putting the other person in a foul mood. And that might affect how he or she treats the next person….

    If we had the power to observe a million people simultaneously? We’d probably see attitudes and behaviors blowing through the population like an unseen, psychological wind. I probably sound weird, but I’ve been thinking a lot about this stuff the last couple of years.

  12. The III

    Wow, searching for bread crumbs in your car. Does this make you more pleasing in Gods eyes? How is this not denying the the finished work of Christ? The whole purpose of the Law was to prove that we are dead in our sins and in need of a Savior. Is Christ your Savior or Herbert Armstrong? All I read about in your articles is what Herbert has done for you not Jesus. Oh I know you pay Jesus lip service here and there briefly, just before you go into great detail about the physical acts of Moses Law or your adoration of Herbert and yet Jesus was the lamb slain from the foundation of the world, for the sins of the world. Why do you think your physical act of sweeping up bread crumbs is more important than God’s Holy Spirit that convicts us of sin? Do you not have the Holy Spirit? Is this why you must go through the physical acts of Moses Law? That is why the Israelites had to until Christ came. Why must you live in the shadows and not in the reality of Jesus Christ (Colossians 2:17)? The Bible makes it perfectly clear that you can not mix the law with grace. For years I have heard the ministers of LCG talk about Galatians 2:20 but never Galatians 2:21, “I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”. I know this comment will never see the light of day on this blog but at least you will read it and just maybe reply. I have my doubts.
    You see I have been a member of LCG and probably still listed as one. I have shook the hands of Rodrick, Richard, Douglas, League and many others so please don’t get the idea I don’t understand your doctrines, I know them very well. Just allowing comments that agree with your point and not allowing counter points makes for a very boring blog. If the prosecutor (Herbert Armstrong) is allowed to present his case but the defense (those who disagree) are not, than how can the truth be determined?

    -The III

  13. Greetings, The III, and thanks for your comment, bitter and misinformed as it may be. Let me try to keep my response brief (EDIT: Fail! Let me at least be organized, then…):

    (1) Congratulations on shaking the hands of some good men, but your words alone demonstrate that you are sadly ignorant of what we teach. Shaking hands is nice, learning is better. Honesty in both is preferred, as well.

    (2) The “finished work” of Christ? Who says His work in us is finished? Not God (Phil 1:6). You confuse the part for the whole. God doesn’t.

    (3) If the honor and obedience we show Christ is mere lip service, may my children one day honor me with such lip service!

    (4) Who said obeying God’s commands is more important that being convicted by God’s Spirit of sin? I sure didn’t. (And who said it’s less? God sure didn’t. Obedience and God’s Spirit are intimately related; e.g., Acts 5:32)

    (5) Who doesn’t agree with Galatians 2:21? I sure do!

    (6) If you think I don’t post comments that disagree with me (let alone reply to them), you clearly don’t read this blog regularly. (Prov. 18:13, John 7:24)

    (7) If you think posting this one, though, means that I will feel obligated to post additional comments from you that contain such unfounded and unchristian comments, that would be a mistake.

    (8) If you think a blog has to violate the wisdom of Proverbs 18:6 and Proverbs 22:10 in order not to be boring, then your vision is lacking.

    (9) On the other hand, if the proverbs don’t mean much to you and you are only interested in commenting so that you can pick a fight, you are kindly invited to comment elsewhere. There are plenty of places on the Internet interested in hosting food fights and making accusations and unfounded claims, but this isn’t one of them.

  14. The III

    [EDIT: Greetings, The III. To shorten your comment a bit (included below this intro with my responses), I have replaced some of your “copy and paste” quotes with the reference only. Anyone interested will hopefully look them up, as I hope they do mine. Also, since by your own admission below you are only here to provoke (thanks for being honest about that, even if you contradict yourself later) and to hijack this post for your own purposes (versus the purposes for which everyone here was sincerely enjoying it), this will be the last time your comment is allowed. I’ll answer in the spirit of Proverbs 26:5. Anything further would fall into the realm of verse 4, instead. Feel free to disagree, but I’m not changing my Comment Policy any time soon.

    As for format, I’ve honored the format you have chosen by doing the same. I’ve kept your quotations of my comment, but I’ve added your “name” before your comments so as to identify them clearly, as I have added an indicator of my response, as well, and have placed them in italics. It took a lot of cleaning up, but hopefully I’ve been able to help your submitted less confusing to those who would have read it, as well as added my own comments in a reasonably clear way. Normally I would not spend this much time cleaning up someone else’s work, but your comment is so educational in its confusion that I thought it would be worth the effort. — WGS]

    The III: Greetings to you Wallace and thanks for you reply. No bitterness intended. I only attacked to see how you would react. You can tell a lot about a man’s character when his actions and beliefs are challenged.

    [WGS: I agree. You can also tell a lot about a man’s character when they attack only to see how someone will react.]

    The III: I am very informed and when in doubt I just mosey on over to cogwriter and fill in the blanks. Bob sure spent a lot of time on his website explaining, in his opinion of course, the beliefs of the LCG.

    [WGS: …which, of course, only makes you “very informed” (if that) of his opinion, and not of what we officially teach. Thanks for clearing that up for us. And, given how completely off your comments are concerning both our beliefs and teachings and even his opinions, “very informed” is not really the best description.]

    My original comment: “(1) Congratulations on shaking the hands of some good men, but your words alone demonstrate that you are sadly ignorant of what we teach. Shaking hands is nice, learning is better. Honesty in both is preferred, as well.”

    The III: In Mark 10:18 Jesus tells us there is none good but one, that is, God. 1 John 2:26-27. Yes, I am being honest in both.

    [WGS: Honest in the first, I’ll accept, but the evidence weighs against honesty in the latter, unless it is just a matter of ignorance — it could be that you are being sincere and simply don’t know how off you really are on what we teach. Ignorance of what one doesn’t understand shouldn’t be construed as a lack of honesty, to be sure, and I will assume the best of you in this regard. (And your Mark 10:18 comment seems intended to be derisive snark as opposed to a proper use of Scripture — compare to Acts 11:24, Matt. 12:35, Luke 6:45, et al. Try to use more respect for Scripture (and for good men) if you’re going to come back. The Author of those scriptures would probably appreciate it.)]

    My original comment: “(2) The “finished work” of Christ? Who says His work in us is finished? Not God (Phil 1:6). You confuse the part for the whole. God doesn’t.”

    The III: Not so, you have gone to a totally different subject. John 4:34, John 17:4, John 19, Hebrews 10:10.

    [WGS: Not at all. What God calls His work in us is not finished at all. You continue to confuse the part for the whole, not noticing that there are past, present, and future aspects to our salvation, as Scripture teaches (Eph. 2:5, 2 Cor. 2:15, Matt. 10:22, Rom. 5:10, et al.) and ignores the ongoing work of sanctification (e.g., Hebrews 2:11, 10:14). It’s no coincidence that you’ve attacked the idea of keeping the Days of Unleavened Bread and make the mistakes you do about the work of God and Christ in us. Those who can’t see Passover as the first of God’s festivals instead of the only of God’s festivals routinely make that mistake, so you’re in a large club, my friend…]

    My original comment: “(3) If the honor and obedience we show Christ is mere lip service, may my children one day honor me with such lip service.”

    The III: I was referring to your article of Thank You Mr. Armstrong. No were did I see Thank You Jesus in your blog. Matthew 6:24.

    [WGS: Wow! You searched for the words “Thank You Jesus” in my blog, saw nothing, and came up with your condemnation. You are an impressive researcher of startling power and ability, indeed! (By the way, your sarcasm indicator should be lighting up at this point.) My apologies that I didn’t plant the text-string “Thank You Jesus” in this post or this post or this post or this post (to highlight just a few) so that you could find them with your impressive search skills. If remembering a man who served me on the anniversary of his death and expressing heartfelt gratitude is nothing to you but an opportunity to pose and posture and fluff your feathers, you aren’t the sort of person others should want to spend time with. If you’d like, read this one too or even this one or this one; Maybe you can use that to accuse me of something even more vile, such as participating in child sacrifice or the Holocaust. Really, your embrace of your own unjustified assumptions and your rush to judgment are breathtaking.]

    My original comment: “(4) Who said obeying God’s commands is more important that being convicted by God’s Spirit of sin? I sure didn’t. (And who said it’s less? God sure didn’t. Obedience and God’s Spirit are intimately related; e.g., Acts 5:32)”

    The III: Agreed! I said the physical acts of the law are of non effect. Romans 7:14

    [WGS: Wow – I feel sorry for your wife that you don’t believe in physically obeying commands like “You shall not commit adultery” are of no (non?) effect, and for your parents since you don’t feel God cares if you physically honor them or not, etc. While you’re in Romans, please read vv.1-2 of chapter 6. Thanks.]

    My original comment: “(5) Who doesn’t agree with Galatians 2:21? I sure do!”

    The III: The LCG! They put us back into bondage with the physical acts of Moses law. Yes we are to keep the 10 commandments but we can not keep them with out his Holy Spirit for we are weak but he is strong. To say the gospel is not about the person of Christ is to deny him.

    [WGS: Your ability to pack so much self-contradiction and confusion into three sentences is impressive—congrats on that. We need God’s Holy Spirit to obey? I agree! So if I have God’s Spirit, why should I not then seek to obey? This is the question you refuse to answer. Also, who says that Christ and His role as our Savior, coming King, and High Priest is not a significant part of the gospel? I don’t. Do you really even read our material or even this blog? But to say that the gospel is only about the person of Christ and not the Kingdom of God? That is to deny Christ, as well as to claim that he commanded his disciples to deny Him, considering that before His crucifixion he sent them out to “preach the gospel” (Luke 9:2-6) before they even knew He was Christ (v.18-20) or the Son of God (parallel in Matthew 16:14-17)—in fact, commanding them not to talk about who He was (Luke 9:22). Neat trick, huh! He somehow commanded them to preach about who He is, while simultaneously commanding them not to preach about who He is. Methinks you don’t understand what the gospel is all about, just like you have no comprehension of what we say about it. Thankfully, we have a booklet that helps to explain all of that: Do You Believe the True Gospel? Thanks for the chance to advertise! 🙂 ]

    My original comment: (6) If you think I don’t post comments that disagree with me (let alone reply to them), you clearly don’t read this blog regularly. (Prov. 18:13, John 7:24)

    The III: Agreed! This is the 1st time I have been here and read a sample of 4 articles comments to make my general opinion.

    [WGS: Well, thanks, I guess, for admitting that you are quick to pass judgment and that you fail all the facts before you do. Had I been you I probably would have followed your admission with an “…and I’m sorry I judged you and your blog poorly and too quickly before I got enough facts,” but, hey, to each his own, right?]

    My original comment: “(7) If you think posting this one, though, means that I will feel obligated to post additional comments from you that contain such unfounded and unchristian comments, that would be a mistake.”

    The III: This is your site and it is yours to do with as you will. At all times it is understood you are in control of its content but let me state here that I am a member of LCG, you are my minister.

    [WGS: First, you’ve given absolutely zero reason to believe you are a “member of LCG,” especially given that you both disagree with our teachings and are terribly ignorant of them. 1 John 2:19 would be the apt description here. Secondly, I’m not sure why you consider me your minister since your actions and words don’t match (you certainly don’t attend in any of my congregations). However, I am happy to minister to you and help you if I can, but I will not allow you to use my blog as a platform for your confused ideas and private & contradictory biblical interpretations, and saying “you are my minister” adds no obligation for me to do so. Feel free to e-mail me directly all you like whenever you like for whatever help you need. (If you truly have attended before, then you know how to contact me directly, so there’s no excuse to use my blog to do so.)]

    My original comment: “(8) If you think a blog has to violate the wisdom of Proverbs 18:6 and Proverbs 22:10 in order not to be boring, then your vision is lacking.”

    The III: Rest assured, I, at no time, have violated the Proverbs but to save a great amount of time, it is better to get the facts up front then having to go searching for them.

    [WGS: How coming out here to pick a fight represents “get[ting] facts up front” I have no idea. However, how your actions represent ignoring the Proverbs (and not just these two) is rather apparent. That you can’t see this says a lot.]

    My original comment: “(9) On the other hand, if the proverbs don’t mean much to you and you are only interested in commenting so that you can pick a fight, you are kindly invited to comment elsewhere. There are plenty of places on the Internet interested in hosting food fights and making accusations and unfounded claims, but this isn’t one of them.”

    The III: I am not here to pick a fight but only to ask you why? Why the physical acts of the law circumvents the spiritual belief.

    [WGS: Hmmm… Well, for one, you said above that you wrote this to attack me and see how I would respond, so saying “I am not here to pick a fight” is just plain self-contradictory. And, to say that you are here to simply ask a question is pretense. You aren’t here to ask but to tell. You don’t even end your question with a question mark but, rather, a period—Freudian slip, there?) Still, since this is our last exchange, let me humor you and pretend you are really asking…. You keep saying “physical acts of the law” because you are trying to make a distinction that you can define however you like. However, we don’t have that liberty, and God makes the distinction you claim for yourself. True, there are many ceremonial things we no longer do and for a number of biblical reasons. Paul makes it clear in Hebrews 9, for instance, that we no longer need to participate in ceremonial washings and physical sacrifices. This said, the Bible is replete with commands to obey the laws of God. Christ, Himself, accused those who claimed belief—even performing miracles—of being unknown by Him because they practiced lawlessness (Matt. 7:21-23) and that those who practice such lawlessness will not be in the Kingdom of God (Matt. 13:41). The apostle John points out that those who claim to know Christ but disobey God’s commands are liars, if unknowingly (1 John 2:4). It is perverse to claim that obedience negates faith, violating not only the Bible (e.g., James 2:22, 26) but also common sense (to say that your love of your wife is negated by your buying her flowers would be stupid). It is equally perverse to claim faith when one refuses to obey (e.g., Heb. 3:18-19, James 2:20).

    I’m sorry you seem to believe that keeping the Feasts of God is some sort of burden or something God has told us not to do (of course, Paul disagrees: 1 Cor. 5:8). If you sincerely have questions about that, again, feel free to e-mail me. But if you simply want to preach the same old misinterpretations, cherry-picking verses to make Paul, the Apostles, and Christ, Himself, seem to contradict Himself, I don’t plan to give you a forum for doing so. There are plenty of places for those looking for doctrinal food fights – this isn’t one of them. You’ve butted into a post in which those who believe in keeping Christ’s commands and God’s festivals in simplicity are sharing with each other the things they’ve learned, and you’ve tried to commandeer it for your own purposes. I’ve allowed you to do so a bit for educational purposes, but should you keep attempting to do this, the grace I’ve tried to extend becomes license. 🙂 So, it looks like we’re done. Feel free to visit the blog in the future, but don’t expect me to allow you to commandeer it like this, again. Thanks!]

  15. A note to those who have written in, irritated at the comments and attitude of “The III”.

    Thanks for your kind words and your willingness to defend both me and the Bible. Frankly, I’d rather not encourage him by posting your comments, as good as they were. He’s looking for those sorts of responses, so I see no need to fulfill his desires. I have responded to his last comment above and will leave it at that.

    Just wanted to let you know that the reason your comment isn’t showing isn’t because you’ve been rude. Rather, I appreciate you much, and I appreciate the fact that most of you have long since learned to see past poor biblical arguments. Maybe he will learn from this, as well. (Hope springs eternal!)

    Thanks, again! — WGS

What are you thinking?

