Great Berlinski quote

Cover of "The Devil's Delusion: Atheism a...
Cover via Amazon

David Berlinski almost instantly became one of my favorite authors when I read A Tour of the Calculus many years ago. Later reading some of his writings related to the Intelligent Design movement and it’s Discovery Institute (even some writings that needle the movement, which is nice to see, as well) only made me more of a fan.

I have not yet had the chance to read his 2008 book The Devil’s Delusion: Atheism and Its Scientific Pretensions, but I most certainly intend to do so. Here is a quote:

“No less than the doctrines of religious belief, the doctrines of quantum cosmology are what they seem: biased, partial, inconclusive, and largely in the service of passionate but unexamined conviction.”

To see Berlinski tear into the pretensions at the heart of much of today’s militant atheism would be a treat, and I can’t believe I only discovered this book recently.

14 thoughts on “Great Berlinski quote

  1. Glory T.

    I would like to read this book! So, is the Discovery Institute that you mentioned liking, too, the place that put out the DVD, the Privileged Planet. Have you seen it? I think it is really good, as well as Darwin’s Dilemma and Unlocking the Mysteries of Life (also both DVDS). I highly recommend them all!

  2. Texasborn

    The last part of Belinski’s quote reminds me of another quote: “The life unexamined is the most worthless of all.” (Kinda reminds me of 1st Corinthians 11:28 and 2nd Corinthians 13:5–very pertinent scriptures in this Holy Day season.)

  3. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    I’d love to see that book too, but I can’t even manage what I’m supposed to do presently – including the reading of the stack of books I have already, one of which is another withering critique of the New Atheism.

  4. Marci Walton

    I’ve seen the “Unlocking the Mysteries of Life” on DVD … I agree with Glory, it’s one of the best I’ve seen!

  5. Hey Mr. Smith, thanks for the tip on a good book. I think I remember this guy from Ben Stein’s Expelled documentary. I also recommend the DVDs Glory mentioned….

  6. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Mr. Smith: I’ve liked science and its implications for religion (much as in, “I like to breathe” 😉 ) since my childhood and used to consider myself decent at mathematics. But since any time I throw out a comment around here you show me how many orders of magnitude your understanding of both areas are beyond mine where it really counts, I look forward VERY much to what you wrote for Tomorrow’s World.

  7. obeirne

    Thank you, Mr. Smith. I’ll be looking forward to reading them as I’m sure you’ll cover the topic
    in a comprehensive manner.

  8. obeirne

    I’ve just watched Mr. Berlinski on the site suggested by Deano and itcertainly was interesting. Thank you for
    the tip, Deano!

  9. Howdy, ConjectureAndConsequence, and thanks for your comments! Nice to see another Berlinski fan. 🙂 And I’ve read about “1, 2, 3” and I would love to read it. It sounds right up my alley. I just finished “The Devil’s Delusion” a few days ago, and it was fantastic!

    Thanks, again.

What are you thinking?

