Oh, Christmas Tree! Oh… oh my…

Today’s Tomorrow’s World commentary, “Green Trees and Jesus,” brought the carol referred to in my title to mind. Worth a read! Here’s the first paragraph:


Green Trees and Jesus
by Gary F. Ehman

Looking back over the years, it has become evident to me that the gap between what the Bible says to do, and what its alleged followers actually do, has reached near absurd proportions…


Read the whole thing! You may not look at Christmas trees quite the same way again.

18 thoughts on “Oh, Christmas Tree! Oh… oh my…

  1. Barbie Woolley

    Oh Man! I used to love that song ♪ ♫♪ ♫Oh Christmas Tree … ♪ ♫♪ ♫Oh Christmas Tree …♪ ♫ but now I’m so free! God released me from the LIE … He let me go … and He filled me with His Holy Spirit and His Truth. It feels so good to be free! Old Lady Woolley

  2. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    “Oh my…” Uh, doesn’t that have to do with another Commentary (or at least article) somewhere, one dealing with euphemisms? 😉

  3. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Right. I was thinking of several things, including Mr. Davy Crockett’s Commentary “Something to count on” (Thursday, August 20, 2009) and a Q&A elsewhere. 🙂

    Such little phrases are so all-pervasive in our speech that I’ll probably end up using at least one or three before the day is out. But, jes’ saying… 🙂

  4. Ah, good catch, there! Trying to go from “oh” to an expression of astonishment, that one snuck up on me. 🙂 It also gets me when I try to do a play on “Lions, and tigers, and bears, oh my.” Sneaky little things, those euphemisms! As for the song referenced in the title, it poses challenges for my brain, as well, as my high school’s school song was sung to the same tune. That together with the fact that my mother always sung me to sleep as a baby to “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer” probably means I’m doomed…

  5. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”, as an earworm, only darns you to Heck. 😉 To be really doomed, you have to have the Vienna Boys’ Choir singing “The Little Drummer Boy” in your head… incredibly gorgeous song, very well-intentioned, has nothing to do with reality. 🙂

  6. texasborn

    Someone in my high school graduating class in my Facebook friends list asked a trivia question yesterday in her post about what was unusual about the names of the reindeer in the song “Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer.” I had not thought about that factoid in many, many moons. I was the only one to get the correct answer. Anybody want to take a stab at it?

  7. Leona Dixon

    Wow!! I love the way how you put that word “euphemisms” into a sentence structure, that I wouldn’t even have a clue how to use it. I love big words! English plays an important part for knowledge and understanding, but as for Christmas Carols when I was a little girl I used to sing the “We wish you a merry Christmas”….and Jingle Bells of a different version, but it wasn’t a very nice one. Now today, I am thankful that God set me Free from the Tradition of Man that I can play deaf ears on the Pagan Holidays, and open ears for the one we should be observing, “The Holy Days”

  8. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    I’m not sure, TexasBorn, but perhaps a data dump will get me close to the mark… 😀

    1) From the Wikipedia article “Reindeer”:

    In the Santa Claus tale, Santa Claus’s sleigh is pulled by flying reindeer. These were first named in the 1823 poem “A Visit from St. Nicholas”, where they are called Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid, Dunder, and Blixem.[47] Dunder was later changed to Donder and—in other works—Donner (in German, “thunder”), and Blixem was later changed to Bliksem, then Blitzen (German for “lightning”). Some consider Rudolph as part of the group as well, though he was not part of the original named work referenced previously. Rudolph was added by Robert L. May in 1939 as “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”.

    According to the British comedy panel game QI, Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and all of Santa’s other reindeer must be either female or castrated, because male reindeer lose their antlers during winter.

    However, this last is an error, at least for Santa’s (presumably) Scandinavian reindeer…

    Reindeer vary considerably in color and size. Both sexes grow antlers, though they are typically larger in males. There are a few populations where females lack antlers completely. (…)

    In most populations both sexes grow antlers,[16] which (in the Scandinavian variety) for old males fall off in December, for young males in the early spring, and for females in the summer. The antlers typically have two separate groups of points, a lower and upper. There is considerable subspecific variation in the size of the antlers (e.g., rather small and spindly in the northernmost subspecies),[15] but in some subspecies the bull reindeer’s antlers are the second largest of any extant deer, after the moose, and can range up to 100 cm (39 in) in width and 135 cm (53 in) in beam length. They have the largest antlers relative to body size among deer.[16]

    There is also an article called “Santa Claus’ Reindeer”.

  9. texasborn

    John, you are oh, so close somewhere in your comment–“close, but no cigar.” Unfortunately, closeness only counts in horseshoes and grenades–as the saying goes. The answer can be found in one of your sentences, after you do your deductive work that Sherlock Holmes was very adept at doing. Nice try, though!

  10. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Are they supposedly all girls/ names? 🙂 Beyond that… I’m just going to let you tell me and then I’ll be properly ashamed for not thinking of it first. 😉 Sowwy, I must use my wimited bwain powwer on other matters… 😀

  11. texasborn

    If nobody gets the correct answer by tomorrow at midnight (John’s time zone), I’ll reveal the solution after that time. John, you are very close to the answer. I’ll let that serve as a hint.

  12. Alex

    I thought that the commentary was fantastic! It is the same argument that I last used as to why I do not keep Christmas – centered on that one trump card (er, scripture).

  13. texasborn

    Here is the answer to my riddle: The thing that is unusual about the reindeer names is that only one of them is a feminine one: Vixen! All the other reindeer are males.

  14. John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav)

    Aargh… I was looking right at that answer and didn’t see it. 😛 And now I remember that from childhood trivia, too.

  15. texasborn

    Yes, you WERE very close to the answer! Does that mean that you will start reading the novels about Sherlock Holmes, in order to improve your powers of observation? 😉

  16. Sweet thoughts that make one feel warm and fuzzy. That is the one hand or their holiday. The other side are those poor decieved who take their life at this time of the year. Then lets not forget that all the bills are coming in the first of the year after another holiday that they use to make them some kind of emotional mess.
    I thank our Father that He has opened the minds of those He has called to the truth.
    I am personally am grateful that I know why all that stuff use to drive me nuts, it is not the truth. The kingdom is and must come soon. There will be no trees decorated, no shopers hurting each other to get the latest new thing, just love as people are taught by Gods family of spiritual beings the truth and they see what joy can be had without all the craziness there is now. I was never happy during that time of year and I can thank God for that as well. I gave it up immediately. It was so easy to do that. This year I have heard Merry Christmas more than any time in my life. It is so sad that they say, “It is for the kids that we do this.” Poor little children.

What are you thinking?

