FAQ is finally up

Standard question mark
Image via Wikipedia

Well, after mentioning it about a year ago, I’ve finally posted an FAQ page!  My thanks to everyone who contributed questions and my apologies for taking so long. I’d noted things down for it from time to time but never got around to actually putting it up. It can now be accessed among the other menu items at the top.

Of course, you may ask, why do you have a FAQ page! If so, then… well… that would be a good question for the FAQ page. 🙂 Seriously, it does involve my goals for the blog, part of which is my hope to drive additional traffic to our websites, lcg.org and tomorrowsworld.org, since I’d read somewhere that FAQ pages help with search engine optimization. Also, I do get some routine questions, and this seemed a good way to address them.

If you check it out, let me know what you think! If you want to add to the questions, there is a form at the bottom of the page for that — I’d rather you add them there than in a comment. As questions are added in the future, I can try to mention the additions here on the main page, either with a post or an aside.

For those who love God’s commandments, I pray that you have a marvelous Sabbath tomorrow! (And if you don’t, then you need to read this!)

5 thoughts on “FAQ is finally up

  1. I like the way you associate copy/paste journalism with stealing internet traffic. I was wondering what your wider perspective is on Intellectual Property and Patents i.e. are these laws legitimate/just?

  2. Good question — and one I’m not qualified to answer completely. 🙂 But I can say that I do believe in Christ’s admonition that “the laborer is worthy of his wages” (Luke 10:7 & quoted by Luke’s companion Paul in 1 Tim. 5:18). To the extent that those laws are trying to protect this principle, I believe that their aim is just and legitimate. As for how it works out in practice… aye, there’s the rub. (And where I have to defer to the judgment of others.) Regardless, unethical copying & pasting clearly violates the spirit of Jesus’ principle, so I try hard to stay on the right side of that and I question those who do not take it seriously enough.

  3. Michael O'Byrne

    There’s been a question in my mind for quite some time and although I’ve had the opportunity to ask it of ministers at services I never seem to think of it at the time. Why is the story of the ” good Samaritan ” called a parable? From the first time I heard it I thought it to be an account of an actual event and Jesus didn’t introduce it as a parable. To me, everything about it, shouts out, ” This actually happened “. Is there any reason to doubt it did? Am I wrong in my conviction?

  4. Howdy, Mr. OByrne — Actually, that’s not the sort of question that the FAQ was put together for, but I’ll still be happy to give it a shot. 🙂 I would say that it does have some earmarks of parables. For one, Luke may not have written that it was a parable, but neither did he concerning Lazarus and the Rich Man in Luke 16, which is clearly not a story that actually happened. However, Jesus starts off the story in a manner similar to the way he begins his story of the Good Samaritan: “But there was a certain beggar named Lazarus…” (Luke 16:20) & “A certain man went down from Jerusalem…” (Luke 10:30). While I suppose I could not rule out the possibility that Jesus was telling a real story of what happened with a real man, perhaps told to Him once by the victim in the story (who would be the only witness to everything), I also see no reason to rule out the possibility that it simply was a hypothetical tale to test the lawyer on what determines true fulfillment of God’s command to be a good neighbor (that is, by making a hated Samaritan the “hero” of the tale). The use of hypothetical tales in such a manner was not uncommon at the time (e.g.Mark 12:18-23, though it could be argued this is a real story, too).

    So, I suppose I am open to the possibility that it is a real story, but don’t see any reasons to conclude that it definitely was. I hope this helps!

  5. Michael O'Byrne

    Greetings, Mr. Smith,

    Yes – it does help as the purpose of the parable or story being related is the important thing and that is everyone is my neigbour and I am to love everyone. But I would like to think it actually happened.

    Thank you for your answer!

What are you thinking?

