The suit I wore at my wedding

[One of our wedding pictures.]
Yes, that's the suit. And, yes, they had me stand on a box.

Ah, the suit I wore at my wedding…  How you have been in my closet for such a long time!  I know I had <ahem> outgrown you, but–as you know–I always knew I would take you out again!  I just knew it!  It would be only a matter of time before I once again had the same body I had back when I was a young lad of 22 years of age.

And now, the day has finally come!  I have removed you from the closet, and you will be worn once more!  Once more, you will see the light of day, the sun will beam upon your fair collar, creased pants, and shiny buttons, as you stride into Sabbath services once again!  And why?  Because after all these years, you finally FIT!

Yes!

You fit…

…my thirteen-year-old son.

<Insert audible sigh here.>

Wherever you are keeping God’s Sabbath tonight and tomorrow, I hope that your day is filled with better news! 🙂

13 thoughts on “The suit I wore at my wedding

  1. Roger Meyer

    You made a handsome couple! The flower of youth passes quickly, but there is something to be said for maturity, even when it is only arrived at through the costly expense and affects of time. Antiques do have their place and are sought after. So enjoy the present as well as the memories and pictures of past events. 🙂

  2. Christine Featherston

    Sure do appreciate your messages, blogs and videos. Steve said he would offer your son his old suits but he can ummm well you see he ummmm still fits into them LOL
    He hopes you took that well, ha ha. Please continue to keep Steve in your prayers as he is still in a lot of pain.

  3. Very aptly said…as neither can my husband fit in his wedding suit. But our sons are much bigger and taller so they will never fit into his suit. Nor can I fit into my wedding dress. Can she?

  4. Ben Maddox

    Hello,

    So very well written. I used to wear the suit my father wore when he married my mother. He had it altered to fit him–they took material from near the waist and added it to the armholes so it would fit his huge chest. The tailor said he had never done that before for any man. I out grew the waist when I reached about age thirty. You both look great–still.

    Miss you and talk later,
    Ben and Ally

  5. Norbert

    Congradulations on your weight loss.

    I have known a number of people who don’t overeat or should be concidered gluttons by any definiton of the that word. Yet have been given a body that is prone to blowing up just by eating three regular meals a day. I can vaguely sense what kind of struggle it is for them and can see it requires a discipline that is hard to maintain.

    Who knows the number of our days, but may that suite wear out long before you do. (Eph 4:24)

  6. Thanks, Norbert, but I think you misunderstood my post. I did not lose enough weight to fit back into my suit. It fits my thirteen-year-old son, not me.

    Sorry if my attempt at humor was a bit vague! 🙂

  7. Linda Patterson

    Now there is only one thing missing. A picture of the son proudly sporting his daddy’s suit. How sweet that would be. To think you were 22 and he is 13 and he can wear the suit. How sweet that you saved it. How many more sons do you have and will older brother save any of the suit for them.
    Thank you for sharing.

  8. Norbert

    Having re-read your post more intently, it’s not so vague. I too am sorry for my sloppy readership.

    Because I know and have known a number of people that focus on their weight, I was only intent on sharing some thoughts of encouragement. Hopefully none of my words would lead anyone into unfruitful thoughts and actions.

  9. Lisa Hutchinson

    Oh, Mr. Smith. You have yet to disappoint me with a smile and the occasional chuckle out loud (like this time) that brings the family running to join in the humor. Then when I stop to think how could that little toddler I remember possibly be 13, much less big enough to fit in your wedding suit, I also remember kids don’t stop aging simply because I don’t see them on a regular basis. Now I am sad. 😥 Thanks a lot!

    Miss you guys…..looking forward to your next visit, which will be???

  10. I love the fact that you stood on a box in your picture – I love knowing behind the scenes stuff like that. Look at the bright side, though, you two make great, big, strong, healthy kids – at 13 he can fit your clothes. Awesome.

  11. Thanks, Lisa! Our next visit is… hard to predict. 🙂 I don’t like to be out of my church area for too long, yet we are longing to get back to Texas before the Feast! We were going to come during Thanksgiving, but that proved to be a bit of a challenge. Best guess now is that we will take advantage of a Church-related trip to Arkansas in March to hop over the border into the Promised Land! Looking forward to it!

What are you thinking?

