Too wonderful for me, #5

After my last post, I thought this would be a more upbeat entry!  It has been a very long time since I have posted a new entry in this series, and this seemed a good time.  (Earlier entries are listed below.)

Here is a verse that is simply too wonderful for me (cf. Psalm 139:6):

“For now we see in a mirror, dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know just as I also am known.”

1 Corinthians 13:12

Knowing how thoroughly God knows me (Psalm 139), the idea that “I shall know just as I also am known” is almost terrifyingly wonderful.  How many of us, since childhood, have had question after question after question about the world around us?  I know I have.  And the reflection that one day, on the other side of that veil–the time pictured in this verse by the single word “then”–all of those answers will be known is just amazing.  No more best guesses, no more faulty theories treated as facts, no more uncertainties… It’s all just about too much to take in.

What will you be excited to finally know then?

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Earlier “Too wonderful for me” entries:

2 thoughts on “Too wonderful for me, #5

  1. Steve

    Terrifyingly wonderful? You got that right! I couldn’t put it any better!

    When I was kid, I always wanted to know what “the official” thing was. I had comfort in knowing the rules. As I grew older, however, I discovered that the world is chaotic. People pursue their own selfish rules. Like Boz Skaggs sang, “the dirty low down.” The little boy inside me still craved for “the official” thing.

    Well, that day is coming. It’s exciting on the one hand, but it’s terrifying on another. But I’ll like it in the end!

  2. I grew up with the RSV and I’ve always been touched by how it puts the whole context:

    (1 Corinthians 13:8 RSV) Love never ends; as for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away.
    (1 Corinthians 13:9 RSV) For our knowledge is imperfect and our prophecy is imperfect;
    (1 Corinthians 13:10 RSV) but when the perfect comes, the imperfect will pass away.
    (1 Corinthians 13:11 RSV) When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child; when I became a man, I gave up childish ways.
    (1 Corinthians 13:12 RSV) For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall understand fully, even as I have been fully understood.
    (1 Corinthians 13:13 RSV) So faith, hope, love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

What are you thinking?

