Brazil attacks my Gmail account

Gmail's logo
Image via Wikipedia

Had my first brush with security issues in Gmail, today.  The experience has left me simultaneously concerned and comforted – we’ll see what my net state is when the dust settles.

I was (thankfully) on my computer checking e-mail when I noticed a little note saying that my account was currently being accessed at another location, followed by the IP address of that location.

Clicking the “Details” link took me to the activity log, which showed access by some IP located in Brazil (which, I understand, can be faked–nothing personal, Brazil!).  A button at the top allowed me to close access by all other parties, which I did, followed by my creating a new password.  I may be messing up the order of things, but thankfully everything took place within a space of about 4 minutes, I think.

Then, not too long after (really, only about five minutes or so), several e-mails show up in my Inbox saying that messages I (supposedly) sent were rejected by Google as being spammy.  The message was a lone link to some website.  Thankfully, the message only went to six addresses, three of which were actually fax machine phone numbers from a defunct e-mail/fax service I no longer use.  And, thankfully #2, the messages apparently never made it to their destinations because Google thought they were suspicious, though I sent a follow up e-mail to the three individuals, anyway, to make them aware.

Things seem to be fine, now, though I am about to scan for viruses again – something I had done just a couple of days ago and things came up clean.  I have no idea how access was obtained, but it left me a bit rattled for a while.  Any other situations like this with a Gmail account?  (And lest this come across negatively, I am very thankful for how well I think the Google/Gmail software intervened and notified me.)

4 thoughts on “Brazil attacks my Gmail account

  1. Steve

    I was recently contacted by the Social Security Administration. Apparently, my father had applied for a social security card. The form was incomplete, so they requested additional information. My father died over twenty years ago. How stupid do they think I am?

    I’m starting to wonder about this internet stuff. Maybe I should just shut down, and keep it as minimal as possible?

  2. Kishi

    This is actually very rampant. Hackers out there are really out to contravene the “netiquette” and send very disturbing links (at least usually, they are disturbing) to others in your mailing list hoping to get a customer from there. Then they pass this off as a marketing strategy…

    I’m not sure if they hack remotely without inserting any spyware into the computer or with the use of it, but the truth is, no one’s safe. Not even the Pentagon. Like the hackers say, if you want a high paying job, hack the Pentagon.

What are you thinking?

