Yet another blog theme change

“Again with the theme change?  Dude!  James 1:8!”  I know, I know…

I wanted something with a bigger font for those who said the last one was hard to read.  I miss having to give up the real estate at the top for the title, as I liked the title in the picture, but the description in the picture is a compromise.  The picture, itself, is one of the defaults for the nice, clean “Twenty Ten” theme I’ve picked, and I thought it fit the name of this blog nicely.

As last time, feedback is welcome.

16 thoughts on “Yet another blog theme change

  1. cindy

    Is there a way you can “flip the picture”…? Most people are right handed, and the picture would be ‘more aesthetically pleasing’ if it lead with the heavy trees (and the sun light and sheep) on the right side. Just a thought.

  2. I’m right-handed and read the photo from left to right, and I think the light-to-dark direction is just fine. 🙂 Whether that has anything to do with my being more “left-brained” than many “righties”, I’m not sure. 😀

  3. Merrilee

    I like it! It’s simple, clean and easy on the eyes which makes for enjoyable online reading. I love the header photo and its composition! The more I look at that, the more I like it. It seems perfect for your blog. Great symbolism there with the light shining on a flock of sheep, grazing in a green pasture, and a lone man walking a narrow path in the shade. 🙂

  4. Thanks, Merrilee (and everyone for your interest!). You know, I thought of the fellow walking down the lane going with the theme of “thoughts en route,” and I liked the sheep, but I didn’t think about the light shining on them and my being a pastor. Clearly, I’m a bad pastor. 🙂

  5. Maybe you’re just a good ENTP (or other Jungian Theorist type) and thus more prone to see logical relationships than value-based ones. 🙂

    Hey, the one works as well as a pastor as the other, provided each is equally converted and tries just as hard. And from all I’ve seen, you do try hard. (Yes, I know you’re laughing at your foibles – also a good trait.)

    Your ENFP “thorn in the HTML”,
    John Wheeler (יוחנן רכב) 😀

  6. Norbert

    It strikes me that there’s a bit of synergy going on between the title of your blog and the picture. Now it may not be as extreme as the synergy that can occur when adding Nitrogen with Glycerin but nevertheless it does have an impact.

  7. Wade

    I like this picture much better. The whole walking, contemplative look of the picture made me immediately think of the title of your blog. Good job!

  8. Patricia

    I too, love the picture. I am sure in Tomorrow’s World this scene will be all over the world. It is a long, lonely road that we travel, but you bring knowledge and interest to us along the way. There is a way that you can keep the fonts you want – just put something on you Website to tell people that they can alter the size of the font by using the keys ‘Ctrl+minus (-)’ to decrease the size, and ‘Ctrl+equal (=)’ to increase it. This works on all Websites. Or if people use Firefox as their Browser, there is an ‘addon’ that lets you set the font size of any Website you go to. It is called ‘NoSquint’.

  9. Patricia

    Further to my comment, sorry I ‘put you crook’. The way to increase the font is ‘Ctrl + plus (+)’. Sorry to confuse anyone.

  10. Zono Riggs

    Robert Frost (1874–1963). Mountain Interval. 1920.

    1. The Road Not Taken

    TWO roads diverged in a yellow wood,
    And sorry I could not travel both
    And be one traveler, long I stood
    And looked down one as far as I could
    To where it bent in the undergrowth; 5

    Then took the other, as just as fair,
    And having perhaps the better claim,
    Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
    Though as for that the passing there
    Had worn them really about the same, 10

    And both that morning equally lay
    In leaves no step had trodden black.
    Oh, I kept the first for another day!
    Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
    I doubted if I should ever come back. 15

    I shall be telling this with a sigh
    Somewhere ages and ages hence:
    Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
    I took the one less traveled by,
    And that has made all the difference.

    One of my favorite poems came to mind instantly although the road in your picture is neat and manicured. I always think of this poem when reading the scripture Mat. 7:13 “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it.
    14 “Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.

    Overall I find the picture quite inviting.

  11. Alex

    The flip/mirror might be worth a shot…. it would provide a darker backgroung to contrast with the white text (or just move the text to the right-hand side).

    Nice pic – keeping the sheep (i think) in mind.

What are you thinking?

