If so, that would be a mighty big atlas

A screen snip from the "Atlas of the Universe"
Do you know your neighbors?

A good friend (thanks GD!) just sent to me a link to a website ambitiously titled “An Atlas of the Universe” (the picture shown is snipped from the website).  I’ve poked around for just a little bit, and it does seem neat.  I know one of our regular blog readers might be excited to come across Wolf 359 in our stellar neighborhood as he zooms in on the Sun.

The website is available in seven languages and seems to have a few worthwhile statistics.  Feel free to click on through and let me know what you think: Atlas of the Universe.  You may know of even better resources out there that feature similar information.

Something to think about when meditating on Revelation 21:7, “He who overcomes shall inherit all things, and I will be his God and he shall be My son.”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 thoughts on “If so, that would be a mighty big atlas

  1. Pingback: If so, that would be a mighty big atlas (via Thoughts En Route) « The Chronicles of Johanan Rakkav

  2. I can’t thank you and your friend enough for pointing this out. During my high school years (and perhaps during my college years once more, I am no longer certain) I created a map of the nearer stars using a cardboard box, black thread and colored beads. The following photo shows the results of my efforts; the stars glow in phosphorescent colors due to paint and UV light.

    Along the way, I got the famous Glise Catalog and used it. Now, of course, I use the Starry Night Enthusiast program on Windows to simply cruise among the stars. But there’s something about a three-dee plot that makes things “real” for me, and this is the best source for such plots I’ve yet seen.

    Incidentally, you probably have more than one regular reader who appreciates the presence of Wolf 359 (famous in STAR TREK lore) in one or more of the site’s maps. (Vulcan has often been said to orbit Epsilon Eridani, also on the maps. Tau Ceti is a REALLY geeky reference from that fictional universe.) But I’ll bet you don’t know anyone else besides me who, when he saw the map of the Whale Probe’s path through the Federation’s inner core (in STAR TREK IV: The Voyage Home), recognized the star plot as being based on real data (as readily as many might recognize the Big Dipper in the sky), or when the moviegoer is taken through the stars before at least one STAR TREK movie, recognizes the stars used as based on the Glise Catalogue out to 250 light-years (as the man who came up with that scene verified for me).

What are you thinking?

