Thoughts on Facebook, anyone?

Howdy, all.  I had an interesting revelation this morning (statistical, not religious) and really wanted to post something about Facebook, but I find that I barely have the time today to even post this tiny bit.

So, I thought that before I post about Facebook, I thought I would first ask some of you about your thoughts.  How has Facebook impacted your time and your interactions?  I assume there will be a mix of good and bad (matching fruit of the tree Adam and Eve chose to munch on, right?), and all I ask is that you not point fingers at anyone (unless yourself).

So, what are your thoughts?

[By the way: Since these WordPress blog posts get sent to my Facebook account, as well, some of you may wish to comment on Facebook, itself, instead of here on the blog where this was originally posted.  Well, feel free, but I don’t know that I will see all the comments on Facebook as I do not frequent Facebook that often, so you might consider following the link to this original post to make your comment here on WordPress.  However, if venturing out of Facebook is an intimidating thought, do as you like!  I will try to read what is being said in both locales as best I can. 🙂 ]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

14 thoughts on “Thoughts on Facebook, anyone?

  1. I find it’s like just about anything else that man invents or otherwise uses: it’s not the thing, but the use of the thing, that counts. I find it a very useful tool, but one that’s a two-edged sword; that doesn’t mean I want to disown Facebook. If I did that, then I’d have to stop blogging, and writing, and talking too, because the strengths and weaknesses of my Facebook page are the strengths and weaknesses of its author and his associations.

  2. Chris Johnson

    I have met so many people from the church that I would never have met any other way. I love the interaction and the seeing others growing in the faith. There are positives that come and negatives that come and it has been a very good tool for me to grow in grace and in knowledge. I seem to study more and read more etc. so that I am able to converse with those who want to. I love the scriptures and the way of truth that has been revealed to me. This is a great way of being able to fellowship with brethren from all over the world and not be so alone in our small congregations. There are bonds being formed that will prepare us for the road ahead and even the time we will spend in the place of safty. I am beginning to really understand the difference between worldly love and God’s love and that my friend was a big issue for me. I am pretty new to the truth and love to have others to grow with. Thanks Mr Smith for the opportunity to comment.

  3. amanda

    i know i spend too much time on Facebook, but i also know i have met brethren i would have unlikely have met otherwise. the feast of tabernacles is just a little more exciting for netn meet in person those i have only met online. 🙂

  4. Angie Garcia

    Good morning Mr. Smith..=).
    FB has been a blessing for me in my life. I have gotten to know many of the members of church through this network. I don’t think I would have met as many people from the church otherwise. I feel that GOD has used this means to connect with others who are of like mind. I have found encouragement, prayers, and edification through people in the church, with this network. I look forward to meeting all of those brethern who I’ve met on FB in person one day. FB can be used for many things, I personally have used it to connect with our Family In Christ all around the world. I absolutely love it! I learn new things everyday from brethern around the globe.

  5. It’s certainly helped to reconnect me with friends from years ago, and keep in touch with former co-workers.

    But I can’t forget what a man brought up on American Family Radio several months ago — “Facebook divorces.” Apparently a few married people have looked up old flames, run off with them and ditched their spouses. I brought this up as a comment, and had one friend reply that he personally knew of one such case.

    So yes, a lot depends on how a thing is used.

  6. Facebook can be good or bad. I don’t really like a whole lot of information about me and my family out on the web, but it is nice to catch up on what the family is doing if you aren’t living in the same town. Also it’s nice to be able to chat with friends who aren’t local and keep in touch with how they are doing.
    I don’t think everyone needs to know my past life experiences nor do I really want to know theirs….they can tell me privately if they want me to know. I sometimes see I have left on the site and when I go back to sign in, I’m already there
    I don’t think I spend too much time on the site and (this may sound silly) but when my kids were growing up we played Scrabble at home a lot so it’s fun to play with my kids and grandkids once in awhile.

  7. Laurel Meyer (maybe)

    Thoughts re Facebook.

    Although I have a Facebook page to exchange photos and informational comments with family and personal friends, I use it very, very discriminately. Actually, your posting prompted me to investigate my company’s blogging policy. They have a very strict policy on personal web pages and blog statements. In essence, any posting (including personal or political opinions) which would be disrespectful of others, confidential, or which would negatively reflect upon myself or the firm could result in termination. And, the company may request temporary suspension of a personal website or blogging activities pending investigation and compliance with ethics guidelines. So, I probably won’t be blogging very much. 😦

    Laurel Meyer (pseudo name)

    Disclaimer. The above statements are confidential in nature and are not intended to discriminate, be disrespectful or unfriendly in any way to any individual, political group, blogging group, company, ethnic group, neighbors, family members, church members, Facebook friends etc. etc.

  8. Steve

    Guess I’m going to be the grump, here. Sorry.

    I avoid Facebook like the plague. I’ve read too many articles about identify theft and internet companies building profiles on people (for sale). It’s creepy.

    Picture somebody following you around, taking photographs, reading your mail, jotting down your personal data, tapping your phone line, and so on. That’s what is happening on the internet, except it’s clinical and impersonal.

    I’m thinking about jumping off the blog bandwagon altogether.

  9. Hello Mr. Smith,

    Hope you and family are doing well.

    Facebook? I tend to agree with JW… it’s not the thing but the use of the thing that matters. As far as people using it to advertise… my spam box handles unwanted emails and if you don’t put other stuff on your profile like your, birth date, phone number etc… it greatly limits what, and how they can advertise to you… you put whatever information you’re comfortable with on there, and no more – no worries… no one can call you without your phone number. From my own experience in Internet marketing, unless they have greatly changed things very recently, I have learned that Facebook advertisers have the ability to, not actually see your personal information, but rather to set a demographic profile to whom they want their product to be advertised. If you happen to fit that demographic profile, the ad pops up on your fb page.

    Like others have already mentioned, it seems to be a great way to meet more of God’s people all over the planet, and it’s also a great medium with which to stay connected to God’s people, as we ARE so spread out. Even if many of us live within the same city, it seems to be that way.

    Also – it is a good way to stay in touch with family members who live great distances from where you live.

    Anyway…. blah blah blah…

    Tell the family hello for me, Mr. Smith,

    Deano

  10. Thomas

    FB: great idea. Create a feed that keeps you up to date on friends, family, news, special interest groups (e.g a certain religious programme/organisation) etc. Then let you interact with them updating their respective feeds/posts. Great way to keep in touch, especially over long distances.

    But, as others have pointed out, it’s a double edged sword. Open to personal abuse by users who can spend too much time on it. Open to abuse by those running the system, since there are concerns as to what Facebook intends to do with the personal profiles each user has diligently built of themselves and which Facebook owns. Aware of various reports that Mark Zuckerberg is not as concerned about my privacy as, say, I am.

    As the Good Book admonishes: let us be known for our moderation (Phil 4:5). I’d include the amount of personal information we make freely available on the web and the amount of personal time we devote to just ‘keeping in touch’ (especially if you’ve got a couple of hundred ‘close’ friends). In the multitude of words…and I think that’s my cue to wrap this up 🙂

  11. Elizabeth

    Funny you would ask this question, since I have been asking myself this recently. Since camp I decided it was time to limit my fb visits a bit. My mom taught me moderation in all things. My balance was needing moderated! I do enjoy getting to visit with new brethern and visiting with people that I haven’t talked to in awhile. For me, I have decided a peak every couple of days should take care of any visiting online I need to do.

  12. Linda

    I do not do too much with facebook. I am probably it’s weakest link. I try to respond to those who want to be friends and to get involved in things that I am invited to be involved with. I get busy doing other things, I usually go there when sent an invite of one kind or another. I think that it has it’s ups and downs. I agree that it is not the thing itself but the use of it. I personally believe that the good will use anything to the good and oh yes there are those who will use anything that can be to the bad. I have enjoyed contact with brethern from church like the others have stated, I would not have contact with otherwise.

  13. First ..thank you for your blogs; they are enjoyable and cause one to think, to appreciate, to exam.
    I am so very thankful for Facebook; I grew up in a foster home, spending very little time with my biological family. I only joined Facebook to see something a co-worker wished for me to see but then was trying to get rid of it. While doing so a small window popped up asking me to chat. (didn’t know you could do that on here) anyway it turned out to be a niece of mine. I now have found most of my family and have gotten to see pictures of family members I didn’t even know I had.
    I don’t participate in fishville or farmville and don’t exchange hugs and so on and so forth but what I do is eagerly get online every morning to see what a few of my new brothers or sisters have to say. One lady delights me with her witty puns for the day. Another couple always try to find something positive for the brethern to think about as they start their day. One brother seems to find the most awesome songs that he shares from youtube. Then it’s off to the groups section where I bring up Prayer Requests for Living Church of God. There I am made aware of those who are in need or perhaps it is someone who has had their prayer answered. I can tell you that my time spent in prayer has increased since joining facebook.
    When used properly it can be a blessing beyond measure. This year we were not able to attend the Feast yet I have visited other states and other countries around the world because others took such amazing pictures and shared them with us all on Facebook.
    As others have pointed out it all depends on what you are doing with the tool. A hammer can either help you build a beautiful home or it can become a deadly weapon. The hammer wasn’t made as weapon, it was made to be a useful tool but put it in the hands of a man/woman with a deprived heart and it yields destruction.

What are you thinking?

