Do I believe in global warming?

Someone asked me a question on Facebook, and I since I put a little thought into my answer I thought I would reproduce the answer here (edited only very slightly):

Q: Hi Mr. Smith,

I’ve been wanting to ask you something that I’m sure you’ve already addressed somewhere. When we were all in the Dallas congregation, you gave a sermonette in which you presented a study that said that global warming was not real. Are you still of that opinion?

Thanks,
TF

A: Howdy, TF! You know, I don’t remember that sermonette at all! Do you know the date I gave it? I might be able to look up my notes.

As for my opinion now, I believe the following things to varying degrees of certainty (forgive me if this is sloppy–I’ve never put it into words before):

(1) I do not have enough information to decide if global warming is real, and even less information when it comes to deciding whether or not global warming, if it is real, is human caused (anthropogenic global warming or AGW).

(2) I do have enough information, however, to personally conclude that “climate scientists” *also* do not have enough information to determine these things to the certainty they claim (and I believe this concerning both sides of the debate).

[These two leave me as a data-based agnostic: I don’t know if the globe is actually warming in a manner that represents a significant trend that properly projects into the future, and, even if so, I do not know if that warming can be convincingly declared man-caused. I believe that, if warming is man-caused, it should be taken seriously; yet I believe that huge claims require powerfully convincing evidence — the larger the claim, the more powerfully convincing the evidence needs to be.]

(3) I believe that bias has degraded both sides of the debate, leaving scientists corrupting their data and not always behaving like scientists (clearly demonstrated by the “Climategate” e-mails). I assume (inappropriately?) that, again, both sides of the debate are influenced by such biases. That could be discussed in more detail, if I had more time.

(4) I believe that an infinitely greater concern is theogenic global warming — that is, the God-caused kind. šŸ™‚ If mankind would put one-tenth as much effort into repenting of sin as it does into “proving”/”refuting” global warming, we would not have to worry about it because God would be freer to work amongst us, helping us to be proper stewards of His Creation, instead of having to leave us alone with our relative guesswork.

I hope this helps! I have enjoyed the chance to put these ideas into words, though if I weren’t in the middle of camp preparations I could probably word it all much better.

Again, if you can find the date of that sermonette, I would love to go back and look at my notes. Thanks!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 thoughts on “Do I believe in global warming?

  1. Dear Mr. Smith,

    If I may “yank your chain” a bit in a friendly way… šŸ˜€

    A “data-based agnostic”? Isn’t that an oxymoron? šŸ˜€ Your argument basically says “I don’t have enough data to make up my mind fairly, and I don’t believe anyone else does either”. This is based on lack of data, not on data. (Unless, of course, “data-based” is meant to say “based on the insufficient data we have” – which, to me at least, is a confusing way of summarizing your thinking. So solly prease, I need translation into Engrish.)

    Maybe the real problem is that you (and we) don’t have a framework of interpretation that consistently interprets what data we have and allows for predictions of future trends. We have that with Theogenic Global Warming (Isaiah 30:26; Revelation 16:8-9; and earlier, Joel 1) and (maybe) Theogenic Global Cooling (Luke 21:11, Syriac and Persian versions), but one can always dispute man-made inferences. On the Theogenic Global Cooling, John Gill’s Commentary has this to say (the Lamsa Version takes this into account):

    and great signs shall there be from heaven; as comets and blazing stars, a flaming sword, or a comet like one, hanging over Jerusalem, and armies in the air engaged against each other (b). The Syriac version adds, “and great winters there shall be”; that is, very long and cold; and so the Persic version, “and winter, and cold, shall be protracted”.

    (b) Vid. Joseph. de Bello Jud, l. 6. c. 5.

  2. What little I have followed on the debate (there’s lots of bias with the award of who controls the masses), the more the models advance, the less the projected temperature increase is. Wasn’t it once projected at four degrees? Now the projection is a degree or less.

    The BP oil spill in the Gulf is a study for stewardship and restorative justice. The President is sounding vindictive rather than enforcing restorative justice. The LP points out the liability limits aren’t financial incentive for a higher standard of prevention.

  3. Combining the main topic with Lyndall’s — and this is a question I probably should submit to TV networks for tracking down an answer — how many gallons of oil have to leak into the Gulf before the sea level rises, to match the coastline impact of climate change?

  4. Alex

    on the topic of Theogenic Global Warming… don’t forget 2 Peter 3:10-12

    “But the day of the Lord will come as a thief in the night, in which the heavens will pass away with a great noise, and the elements will melt with fervent heat; both the earth and the works that are in it will be burned up.
    Therefore, since all these things will be dissolved, what manner of persons ought you to be in holy conduct and godliness,
    looking for and hastening the coming of the day of God, because of which the heavens will be dissolved, being on fire, and the elements will melt with fervent heat?”

    … so perhaps we are just on ‘preheat’ now. šŸ™‚

What are you thinking?

