Once again, Actuary is #1 career

A quick post this morning…  As is my wont, I like to write about actuaries in the news and it looks as though, once again, the actuarial profession is ranked as number one in the country — in this case, as evaluated by CareerCast.com.  (My thanks to GD and PW for passing this along.)  You can read the article that as passed on to me here at Milwaukee’s Journal Sentinel: “Power players who wield calculators.”

As I have said before, I would not trade my life now in the ministry of Christ for the world.  But I will happily say that I did thoroughly enjoy my time as an actuary before I was called into the ministry.  (Nabbed right before another try at that last, stubborn exam that stood between me and an ASA designation, too!)  It was wonderful, challenging, satisfying, nerdy work, and I am so thankful for the years I got to spend doing it as well as for the many lessons I learned during that time, as well.

For those out there hungering for blog posts about actuaries (and who isn’t?), look no further!  I have some links below to some of my own.

While actuaries are, in one way or another, central in those posts, I mention actuaries or actuarial work here or there in quite a number of posts.  You can see a search on “actuary” here, which would capture some of them.  Again, I am so thankful that God called me into Christ’s ministry in the Living Church of God and to work on the Tomorrow’s World television program.  But there will always be a soft spot in my heart for actuaries.  If a young person out there is really good with math, even if he or she doesn’t like math, the actuarial profession is worth looking into.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

What are you thinking?

