Which newspaper should I get?

I had let some subscriptions lapse for the sake of saving some money and have been getting my news mainly from the Internet.  However, I really would like a subscription to a newspaper again (other than our local St. Louis Post-Dispatch) and am interested in some feedback from those willing to give me some.  Which newspaper do you think I should get?

I know of no purely unbiased newspaper source (and don’t know if such is really possible).  Given my own leanings, I would tend toward the Wall Street Journal as opposed to the New York Times, as the former and I lean in similar directions while the latter and I lean less so.  However, again, I’m open to suggestions.

I’ve put together a poll below so that you can easily let me know what you think.  Just click on the paper that you think would be most profitable.  If you have other ideas, then click on “I have other ideas…” and let me know in the comment section.  (Even if you do pick one of the specific options, you can still give me your thoughts in the comments section.)  Also, I think I created it such that you can pick multiple newspapers instead of just one if you want to do so.  If not and you would like to pick more than one, just pick one, reload the page, and pick another.

Thanks for your input!

6 thoughts on “Which newspaper should I get?

  1. Rick Collins

    Hello Mr. Smith,

    First time I’ve voted in a long time 😉

    I work for the Dallas Morning News. I have been in the Newspaper business since January 1972. Since I was only able to vote for one newspaper, I chose the New York Times but if I had had multiple recommendations I would have chose for you the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. These two newspapers tend to lend themselves to covering many behind the scenes stories that you don’t get in many local newspapers. World shaking events that huge corporations and politicians are usually only privileged to know.

    Of course, these papers are not the only ones that you may turn to for world events. I’m very sure you know about the multitude of online newspapers on the drudgereport.com

    That is my two cents worth. Probably not much help.

    Rick Collins

  2. Howdy, Mr. Collins —

    I didn’t know you worked for the Dallas Morning News! I remember when my family was rooting for the Dallas Times Herald in the Metroplex newspaper wars, but, alas, it was not to be… 🙂

  3. Don’t subscribe to paper. Save a tree, burn coal using the electronic editions. News podcasts are convenient way to get news without buying subscriptions, and works well on the bus.

  4. Norbert

    Farbeit from me if anyone likes the real feel of paper still, who can argue with that! But I voted “other” and that would be http://english.aljazeera.net/ It’s very informative between the Middle East, Europe, America and the rest of the world as you can get. Albeit with their own bias, yet it is a very middle of the road kind and nothing extreme other than the amount of info they give.

    I would say a person can find the limited world view of America there as Americans have their own version of the rest of the world. However if your looking for something that has a more local/national indepth coverage, Al Jezeera would not be for you.

    Here’s something from them that peaked my interest recently, an hour long investigative report done by one of their departments. The show is called “Empire”, it’s much like a Larry King formatted program and this one focuses on the EU with some of their leading thinkers. It can provoke anyone interested in Bible prophecy think “deeply” between what is now and how the future will certainly come about.

  5. Steve

    I comment too often, but I have to weigh in on this one. Being a news junkie, I probably read about twenty or thirty newspapers every week (over the internet). Don’t tell anybody, but I even pull out my crisp, new copy of Pravda once in awhile.

    There’s no such thing as an unbiased newspaper. Everybody has their angle. If I target a subject, then I’ll read a variety of pertinent newspapers. It gives a more rounded view of the subject.

    Personally, I prefer the Wall Street Journal. I had to vote for the New York Times, however, because they’re a bigger news service with a broader coverage of world news. But I’ll immediately start checking other sources if something catches my eye.

  6. Steve

    Forgive me, but I just thought of an example.

    When President Obama travelled to Europe recently, the American media portrayed it as a big success, describing how Obama wowed everbody with his presence. When I checked the European newspapers, however, I found a completely different take. Sarkozy and Merkel found him a slightly irritating neophyte who talked good, but didn’t understand the complexities involved.

    That’s why I always check other sources on a given story.

What are you thinking?

