Why I don’t keep Christmas, stated briefly

After my lengthy last post on what the Maya did & didn’t say about 2012, I’m a little blogged out!  Still, I mentioned in that post that I would try to maintain my tradition of posting about why I don’t keep Christmas, so let me do so here.  For once, I am going to try and be brief.

(For longer posts in previous years, you can click on these: 2006, “Christmas… WWJD?” 2007: “Christians Shouldn’t Keep Christmas” 2008: “Egg Nog, yes. Christmas, no.”  Also, I’ve referred to it in some other posts, which can be found with a search on the word “Christmas” – even better, search “Christmas” on the Tomorrow’s World site.)

History is clear that the celebration of Christmas and the season surrounding it is rooted in pagan, pre-Christian practices, adopted by the “Church” over centuries.  No one seriously disputes this, and it can be verified by even the laziest of Internet or encyclopedia searches.  The question is whether or not it is OK to worship God and Christ in this way.

And the answer is that it isn’t.  The commandments of God clearly stand in opposition to adopting pagan traditions to worship Him (e.g., Deuteronomy 12:29-31, Jeremiah 10:1-2), and Jesus Christ clearly condemns placing our traditions above obeying God’s commands (e.g., Mark 7:6-9).  The Bible is startlingly straightforward in this matter.

Therefore, stated briefly, I do not keep Christmas because I refuse to disobey Christ in order to worship Him.  To do otherwise would be nonsensical.

I know many who keep Christmas with the best of intentions.  But God is seeking those who are willing to worship Him in spirit and in truth (John 4:23-24).  Kicking the Christmas habit is a great way to start doing just that.

I could say more, but I said I would be brief! 🙂  If you’d like more, check out the Tomorrow’s World website; you can browse around or use the search box at the bottom for a more direct approach to finding topics of interest, including a little dose of “yuletide truth.”

9 thoughts on “Why I don’t keep Christmas, stated briefly

  1. Rick Collins

    Mr. Smith,
    49 years ago, my family came in the Work of God “Radio Church of God” in 1960. I was in the 5th grade at the time and our teacher at school Mr. Price told all the kids we’d be swapping out presents. I held up my hand and told him I didn’t celebrate Christmas any longer.
    Mr. Price took me out to the hallway from our classroom and slapped me from one side to the other. My dad took me out of that school and put me in another school. That was my first baptism under fire if you will.
    It takes courage to obey our Father and to do His will and not our own. I have followed this way of life now for 49 of my 58 years on this earth and I certainly don’t intend to give it up now for a few gifts and worshiping another god.
    I’m looking forward to the crown that is awaiting me if this kid can keep his nose clean until the resurrection or twinkling of an eye…whichever comes first.
    Rick

  2. Pingback: Do What’s Right « Mamaterri's Blog

  3. My main line of reasoning in conversations this year was that there’s more evidence from the Bible that Jesus kept Hanukkah, than that He kept Christmas. (John 10:22-30)

    My more ice-breaking humorous approach the last couple of years has been: I still haven’t found the Bible verse about the little drummer boy.

  4. D Crockett

    I found something I really like about Christmas. No traffic! On the way to work on Christmas Day there were no cars on the streets. Okay, it’s no biggie, but it is the only positive thing I can find about the celebration of the day.

What are you thinking?

