My favorite thing about 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14…

…is that 10² + 11² + 12² = 13² + 14².

Sweet, huh?

(Sorry: After last post I’ve had math stuff on the brain.)

For those looking to waste a bit time (as in, find the answer quickly or else feel silly after you do), consider: are there any other sequences of 5 consecutive integers that fit this same A² + B² + C² = D² + E² pattern? How many more could there be?

[And I really will endeavor to make the next post non-mathy (no promises, though!). We’ll be in Joplin for the Family Weekend there, so I may not post for the next few days. have a great weekend, yourself!]

3 thoughts on “My favorite thing about 10, 11, 12, 13, and 14…

  1. It’s been a few years, but I always had a fascination for sequence equations. Where you have a first difference and second difference, and keep going until the difference is a constant.

    I was particularly fascinated by sequence equations involving fractions, where you keep approaching zero or some other limit, but you never quite arrive.

    I’m a little rusty. Anyway, what do you think of sequence equations?

  2. Brandon

    I’m sure there are integers that fit the same pattern..Probably involving multiples of these numbers… and probably an infinite amount of them… I don’t know I may be totally wrong.

    I’ve been studying perfect numbers alot lately…and the elusive perfect odd number….very interesting stuff…

What are you thinking?

