Can you hear me now?

Howdy everyone! This blog post is an experiment before we leave my wife’s aunt’s house. I wanted to experiment with my new Dragon NaturallySpeaking software. This blog post is that experiment! I am writing it completely using my voice. It is my hope that using the software will help me to churn out more articles, as well as scripts, in quicker amounts of time. I was able to play with this software a little bit yesterday and the time that I spent seems to have been profitable as it does seem to be doing a better job of recognizing my voice than it was doing yesterday. I have had to go back and change a few words and punctuation marks (which I was able to do using the voice commands), but overall, the vast majority of this paragraph has been entered purely through my dictation.

I’m really not certain whether or not this will be able to help me be more productive, but it is something that I’ve wanted to try for a long time and I’m looking forward to giving it a shot. In particular, it is my hope that this will help me to produce scripts in a quicker amount of time. The reason my hopes are higher for scripts is because I try to write the way I speak when I create them and if my computer will actually take dictation and do so successfully without the need for many edits it seems to me that would be a great help!

I hope to write another post soon about my trip to Charlotte. As usual it was a wonderful trip, and I’m so appreciative of the fantastic staff that we have there. God has assembled a remarkable team to do His work — and I’m appreciative, as well, that I have the opportunity to work with them.

Gotta go! Hope to post again soon…

8 thoughts on “Can you hear me now?

  1. Carolyn

    Question: When you purchase this product, do they have different versions for different accents, or does the software learn your accent? Another question: If the software learns your accent, would two people living in the same household, but with different accents (say like Kentuckian and Belgian accents) have to have their own software?

  2. Archie: Thanks. The software works, though it is taking some getting used to and may not be up to the task for which I bought it. As for “some thoughts on religion”, I might point out the following scripture as it relates to this blog:

    “So, affectionately longing for you, we were well pleased to impart to you not only the gospel of God, but also our own lives, because you had become dear to us.” – The Apostle Paul, 1 Thessalonians 2:8

    While this blog is definitely a place where I share my thoughts on “religion”, it is also a place where I share other things, as well. The concentration may vary from time to time, but you will find both elements there — and if that is bothersome, you are certainly free to surf elsewhere, though you are very welcome to stay, as well.

    In this particular case, I have been in Charlotte, North Carolina for a little more than a week filming two telecasts of our television program Tomorrow’s World. Consequently, some of those who are familiar with the program like to hear how things are going.

    If you haven’t already, you could check out some of the recent posts from before the trip: “Kerfuffle over ‘baptizing’ dead people” or “Proposition 8, protests, priests, & prophecy”, or even the post right after the election which pointed to a commentary on the website of our church: “How should Christians react to Sen. Obama’s election?”

    Or you could just hang on a bit and read the post I am about to write which will discuss the religious topics I filmed on last week in our studios.

    Either way, I’m glad you stopped by and I hope you will come again.

    Carolyn: The product does deal with different accents, but only at a national level. If two people want to use the same program (and they can, it seems) you would just create two accounts. Over time, it can learn to respond to the way you talk versus, say, your spouse. At least that’s the way it is supposed to work. Time will tell…

  3. rakkav

    Uh, Mr. Smith, does this mean that you have two horns like a lamb and speak like a Dragon…? 😉

    The experiment looks successful. Keep up the good Work.

  4. Richard & Mr. Wheeler — I must admit that the same thoughts came to me! For the record, I am not using something from the Dragon, and I do not have horns like a lamb. I’m merely speaking to Dragon… uh… that sounds bad, too… Maybe I can call it “that software from Nuance” — that sounds better. (Of course, “nuance” implies subtlety, and a certain critter was called the most subtle in Genesis. Is there no end to my torment?)

    As for the experiment’s being “successful,” that would be much too early a call. I will try to write more on this later if I have a few moments.

  5. rakkav

    Even when they define “daemon” correctly in the ancient Greek sense (or one of them) as being a tutelary spirit (which phrase is much preferable to the phrase they actually use, “guardian angel”), they STILL adopt a mascot that’s red, two-horned and the owner of a pitchfork. We just can’t win.

    And “no bias toward good or evil”? Ain’t no such thing, unless you’re so devotedly … dare I put it this way? … Laodicean that you’ll do *anything* to please both God and the Devil.

    שלום בישוע המשיח
    יוחנן רכב

What are you thinking?

