The Pope, sex abuse scandals, and the AP on U.S. schools

All the attention this week during the Pope’s visit to the U.S. on the child abuse scandals that rocked the Catholic Church in recent years has reminded me of the post I published last October: “Sexually abusive teachers: Frighteningly numerous.”  For those who did not read it then, it concerned a shocking Associated Press investigation concerning the alarming number of school teachers who are sexual abusers in this country.

I don’t mean to attack public school teachers — having been one, myself, I know the great majority of them to be, in general, a lovingly self-sacrificial lot who deeply care for children and who are absolutely devoted to doing what they believe to be in the kids’ best interests (regrettably, whether their parents agree about those “best interests” or not, I might add).  And I don’t mean to be an apologist for the Catholic Church or it’s leader — anyone who has read our free booklets Who or What Is the Antichrist? and Satan’s Counterfeit Christianity have no doubt of that!

But, where was the public outrage or demand for accountability after the AP investigation?  Commodian (sorry, comedian) Bill Maher uses his vulgar and godless cable program to attack Ratzinger’s 2001 Vatican policy letter that relates to abuse by priests, but will he also use his profane talents to address the similarly evasive, “move the problem”, “circle the wagons” approach of school boards and teachers’ unions reported by the AP, when the same sorts of abuses are under consideration?  Admittedly, I do not watch his show (I mean, who could? From the clips I have seen, I’d rather eat broken glass stew) and perhaps he has.  Perhaps he really is a person focused on principle and upset at the systemic presence of child abuse in any institution, and not just another petty religion-hater caught up in self-worship.  I mean, I’m willing to give him the benefit of a doubt.  (And I just know I left some doubt in here somewhere–now, where did I put it…)

The abuses that have been inflicted on children by those claiming to be representatives of God are truly horrific.  They are a mockery of the love Christ displayed when he took children into His arms to bless them (Mark 10:13-16, et al.).

But why the immense (and justified, in my eyes) public scandal surrounding the abuse of children in one system with no parallel sense of proportional public scandal the another?  Does it reflect the higher standards we expect of men who claim to bear God’s name, or lower standards we have come to expect from those in our educational system?  I can understand the former, but I would weep at the latter.

A day is coming when all those who prey on children will face the Judge of the World, and children will play in the streets without fear (Zech. 8:5-6) for no one will be allowed to harm them under His rule (Isa. 11:8-9).  May that day come quickly.

[EDIT: Concerning the blog post mentioned above, “Sexually abusive teachers: Frighteningly numerous,” I have edited it a bit for some grammar and format problems I found, as well as updated its links to a Fox News article that has the original AP story, since I could not get the story to come up anymore on the CNN website.]

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 thoughts on “The Pope, sex abuse scandals, and the AP on U.S. schools

  1. Broken glass stew…I ought to have a decent recipe for that somewhere, plus a little spare doubt for seasoning it…unless all that got thrown out during deleavening.

    I’ve noticed a common thread in the issues you’ve raised: human beings tend to apply a double standard about human nature, no matter what humanly devised worldview they adopt. They can see when others fall short, but tend not to see when they do. And so since “we” Americans are in effect a secular society now, “we” expect things of religious people that “we” don’t expect of ourselves. It would be the reverse if “we” were a religious people looking at the secular (as was the case when “we” derided “godless Communism”).

    What a valuable lesson the Passover and the Days of Unleavened Bread teach — a lesson (from one perspective) about our common natural hypocrisy, and how it has to go and stay gone.

    שלום
    יוחנן רכב

  2. Deano

    Howdy Mr. Smith,

    I think the reason is precisely what you said: Those who are supposed to be representatives of God are held to a higher level of accountability, (and therefore scrutiny and criticism). Probably some Scriptures that lend themselves to that view point. I don’t have a Bible in front of me, but Jeremiah 23 comes to mind for some reason.

    I agree, however, that when children are harmed by ANYONE, especially in such a perverse manner, it should be openly and vehemently condemned. That’s one of the reasons I like Dr. Laura – she socks all of ’em in the nose! Which is to say, she doesn’t hold any punches – not that she literally socks them in the nose 😉

    Of course, most self worshiping, haters of anything remotely to do with God probably don’t like her either … LOL

    Yessir! It will be an awesome thing when children can be safe wherever they are. God speed that day.

    Have a great Spring Holy Day Season and tell the family hello for me.

    Deano

What are you thinking?

