I am a cat and I walk in eternity

First, happy Sabbath to everyone! I hope it will be peaceful, pleasant, and profitable for you!

Next, if you are in our church and received the Festival brochure, excited to check out the Branson Festival website only to find it referring to last year’s info, you have my apologies. 😦 We are still putting some finishing touches on the this year’s website, and HQ is getting the information out so quickly this year that I’ve been caught off guard! (You must admit, that was a fine way of blaming their efficiency instead of my own inefficiency, huh?) We should be able to begin releasing new info that relates to this year starting early next week. 🙂 Earlier this evening before dinner I added a note on the old website to let visitors know that the information is old (thanks GJ for the heads up!), so hopefully no one is getting confused.

Finally: “Dude, what’s up with the title of your post?” Well, WordPress keeps a number of statistics concerning this blog, and one of them I find most fascinating is information on the search queries that people use on Google, AOL, etc. that bring them to this blog. For instance, yesterday someone typed “how scary is walking with dinosaur” (note the missing “s”) into a search engine which then gave them one of my blog posts as a result. In fact, it may have been Google, which I notice gave this 8/2/2007 post of mine about our visit to the Walking with Dinosaurs show last year as fourth on its list for a search on those words. While the identity of the searcher is not known, the words or phrases that they entered into the search engine are recorded and displayed.

The things that people search for that lead them to this blog — whether purposefully or accidentally — has always been fascinating, and one of yesterday’s searches was the weirdest, I think. Some one did a search on the phrase “I am a cat and I walk in eternity”. Really! No kidding! I tried doing a search on the phrase in Google and, sure enough, it gave a link to one of my posts on the second page of results. Which post? Again, the 8/2/2007 post on the Walking with Dinosaurs experience! (Please click the link and read it for yourself to confirm that in that post I neither claim to walk in eternity nor to be a cat — God gets all the credit for being able to do the former, and I would wish the latter on no one…)

Can you find each of the words of “I am a cat and I walk in eternity” in that post? Are you interested in a (really boring) word search puzzle?

It’s an interesting lesson in where your Google searches can take you.

But what interests me most is this: Where in the world did the searcher get the phrase “I am a cat and I walk in eternity” in the first place? What would motivate someone to search for such a collection of words? Is it a line from a famous poem or something?

Anyone with information is free to encouraged me know…

11 thoughts on “I am a cat and I walk in eternity

  1. TheLioness22

    This is what I found (via a few quick searches):

    I Am a Cat is apparently a satirical Japanese novel [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Am_a_Cat]

    “I walk in eternity” seems to come from a Dr. Who quote – “I’m a Time Lord… I’m not a human being. I walk in eternity.” (The Doctor, in “The Pyramids of Mars”) [http://www.amk.ca/quotations/doctor-who/page-2]

    How the two fit together, however, is beyond me. Unless the searcher had a couple things on his/her mind and thought he/she could find both of them in one query… 🙂

  2. I don’t know where that phrase comes from, but I’m guessing that either its author is a cat owner/admirer and/or has read Robert A. Heinlein’s THE CAT WHO WALKS THROUGH WALLS (or one of the related novels). Or who knows, maybe it came from an ancient Egyptian text somewhere. (Perhaps it’s entirely original and its author wanted to make sure no one had thought of it first.)

    For the record, I asked Google to do an “exact phrase search” for “I am a cat and I walk though eternity”. This very blog is the only thing that shows up.

    שלום
    יוחנן רכב

  3. Ed Ewert

    There is so much information out there on the internet that I sometimes make very obscure searches myself. Some of my recent ones are:

    “an electron is a type of black hole” (I’m wondering if it is)
    “what’s wrong with conspiracy theories”
    “Satan is sued” (I read an article about God being sued, so, is Satan also being sued?)

  4. Ooh, Mr. Smith, this is one of my favourite pasttimes, too! (Yay for WordPress!) I’m always amazed at the phrases people search for and find my blog. For example, an interesting current one is “macgyvers girlfriends.” I’m pretty sure I’ve never talked about MacGyver’s girlfriends, but either way, it makes for a good chuckle now and then.

  5. Craig

    A perfect segue for launching into the Passover season. “For I will pass through the land of Egypt this night, and will smite all the firstborn in the land of Egypt, both man and beast; and against all the gods of Egypt I will execute judgment: I am the LORD” (Ex. 12:12).

    Take that Egyptian cat-god Bast! Originally goddess of the Sun! This gets better and better. LOL

  6. Merrilee

    Maybe the quote comes from the Pope’s biography, “Joseph and Chico”, which was written by a German cat — yes!

What are you thinking?

