Brief vacation in Apologetics Land comes to a close

Sitting here as Sunday evening comes to a close for our family, I realize that my little weekend excursion into apologetics is coming to a close.

I had purchased a copy of Victor Reppert’s excellent C. S. Lewis’s Dangerous Idea: In Defense of the Argument from Reason a few weeks ago, but I have been putting off reading it for other priorities. However, in need of something different for my brain to chew on, I cracked it open sometime Friday morning and began reading it here and there when I had a chance. But Monday morning cometh, and with it I will need to put it aside for some incredibly pressing priorities this week.

I really enjoy apologetics (“the branch of theology concerned with the defense or proof of Christianity” according to Dictionary.com) and long to improve my ability in that regard, motivated in part by passages such as 1 Peter 3:15 and in part because of my background in and love for mathematics and logic. That said, Mr. Reppert’s book has been fascinating in that the “Argument from Reason” made by C. S. Lewis is one that isn’t heard too often these days and seems, to me, a special instance of the sort of discussions that fall under the heading “Law demands a Lawgiver”. Mr. Reppert seems (at least in my reading so far) to successfully resuscitate Mr. Lewis’s argument after the withering criticism it has seen through the years, and I find in his (Mr. Reppert’s) presentation some language that fits well with some ideas that I have been trying to verbalize for some time.

Some out there might be put off on the title’s play on Daniel Dennett’s Darwin’s Dangerous Idea: Evolution and the Meanings of Life. However, while the similarity in titles is purposeful, Victor Ruppert’s book is hardly a cheap imitation or even a reactionary tome. And I say this without bias against “reaction” books — I loved the McGraths’ The Dawkins Delusion?: Atheist Fundamentalism and the Denial of the Divine, as I have mentioned before.

I will keep at least a few toes on the soil of Apologetics Land this month, as our Bible Studies in this area are building on the booklet The Real God: Proofs and Promises, but I will generally be consumed by more immediate concerns: the impending arrival of the Spring Holy Days, some research and projects related to the 2008 LCG Feast of Tabernacles in Branson (for which a “Feast site website” is almost ready to be published, thanks to Beautiful Wife!), preparations for both pre-teen camp in Missouri and teen camp in Michigan, a growing number of visit requests from folks interested in our telecast and church, early work on the next Adult Bible Study planned for Kansas City in August (Yes-there is finally a date set! Announcements for our region coming soon…), and a few other things with which I will not bore you. As a character says in one of my favorite movies, “I am blessed with work!” 🙂

It was good to see so many of you this weekend, both at services and especially at the baptism we had today (Yay!). I hope your weekend has wrapped up as pleasantly as mine, and I’m sure I’ll be in touch again soon…

What are you thinking?

