The joy of finished tasks!

Whew!

I LOVE doing the telecast, but I do readily admit that I also LOVE the feeling when I am done taping some! ๐Ÿ™‚

I didn’t feel as good about my scripts when I came in this morning as I wanted to.ย  Mr. Apartian and I had a chance to talk about it while he was in my (borrowed) office after his sermon videotaping session was done, and he tried his best to translate a French proverb or saying that he felt was probably the cause of that feeling: “The rooster in the morning and the nightingale at night never sing the song they really wanted to sing.”ย  I have probably butchered it here by trying to recall it from memory, but the point was well taken and rang true — sometimes what we actually accomplish seems unsatisfactory compared to the lofty and beautiful object we had originally hand in mind, when it should not seem so.ย  My wife has told me before that I am a endless “tinkerer” in that whatever endeavor I am undertaking I never seem to think that my final product is good enough and I always want to improve on it in some way.ย  I must say that I think she is on to something.

(Probably the same reason George Lucas has created umpteen different versions of a certain sci-fi movie for no good reason, but that is another story.)ย  (A certain space pirate in that certain sci-fi movie shot first, but that is also another story.)

However, regardless of the nervousness I felt about the scripts when I left my temporary dwelling this morning, each taping seemed to go wonderfully smoothly, and I felt much better about both scripts after all was said and done.ย  Part of that may be because I was finally able to see and hear the scripts live and out loud, allowing me to resolve some of my unnecessary concerns, but a huge part is certainly due to the fine studio crew I get to work with whenever I come.ย  With some vacations and out of town training going on, I was with different folks than usual, yet the job was done just as professionally.ย  I LOVE getting to work with these folks, and I continue to be humbled by the fact that God lets me do this.ย  (If any of you studio folks are reading this, you have my thanks.ย  You make it a real pleasure.)

And while it could go without saying, though it shouldn’t go without saying, God gets the credit for all that went right today.ย  I know many of you prayed about the taping, and I know I certainly prayed about the taping!ย  And, sure enough, it went really well.ย  Thanks to everyone for their prayers, love, and support — y’all are examples to me.ย  You strive to seek Him and keep His commandments, and He hears your prayers (1 John 3:22).

And since I never seem to be able to get all of the TV makeup off until I take a shower, I still look sort of pretty.

Sort of.

Tomorrow will be a busy day, as well, with much to do, but it will feel like a different world with the telecast tapings done.

Take care, and for those in my church areas, I’m looking forward to getting back to see you!

6 thoughts on “The joy of finished tasks!

  1. Dear Mr. Smith,

    Actually, Dear Sir, George Lucas sketched out and published the basic outline of his grand arc shortly after the first film was released — and so far as I know, he never deviated from that arc in essence. The last step of his sketch especially I remembered when the last film arrived: the fight of He Who Would Become Darth Vader versus Obi-Wan Kenobi over a lava pit.

    Of course, if you’re talking about the *revisions* of the various films afterwards, then that’s understandable. Not just perfectionism was involved, but the fact that the technology required to fulfill his original vision didn’t exist when he started his run (or so it has been claimed). He certainly made his space battles more and more mind-numbingly complex as he went!

    I recall one of my fellow WCG members being much more picky about the *physics* of STAR WARS, especially that of space planes and TIE fighters turning, banking and so on as if they were operating in an atmosphere and under the close influence of planetary gravity. STAR TREK usually had the same sort of fault, at least with its starships. BABYLON 5 is to be credited for making the Earth ships (at least) move as real spaceships would move according to Newtonian physics.

    Best wishes (ืฉืœื•ื),
    John Wheeler (ื™ื•ื—ื ืŸ ืจื›ื‘)

  2. Howdy, Mr. Wheeler —

    I was speaking of his continual “tweaking” of the films after their release. And as for the tweaking resulting only from the “catching up” done by technology, I don’t buy it. I just think he can’t help himself.

    (No, I was not referring to the fundamental story arc. I remember reading, myself, back in the late 70s about the battle between Kenobi and Vader on the edge of a volcano or lava pit in Starlog magazine. And the rise of Palpatine in Episode III essentially followed the brief description given back in 1983 in the novelization of ROTJ.)

    As for banking and stuff, the explanations are simple…

    Star Trek, ships in warp: The banking craft is traveling using non-Newtonian propulsion, taking advantage of the properties of subspace dynamics and the generated warp field. This also explains the otherwise-unnecessary aerodynamic look of the ships.

    Star Trek, ships on impulse power: Uh… Given the fixed-position nature of the Newtonian impulse thrusters, the appearance of “banking” is simply the ship’s maneuvering to properly orient the thrusters. Yeah. Yeah, that’s it. That, OR maybe the thrust is Newtonian, but the determination of orientation and orientation is non-traditional (though perhaps, still Newtonian). Um… Maybe that’s it instead… OH, WAIT! It might be to prevent too much of a burden on the inertial dampers or artificial gravity systems! Yeah. Yeah, that might be it…

    Star Wars: Because, it looks cool! Who wants to dive toward the Death Star without banking and spinning? I mean, get real!

    Plus, John Williams’ trumpet fanfare (hideously drowned out by sound effects in the most recent (U.S. version) DVDs) at the beginning of the Battle of Yavin virtually demands banking planes. So, in the Star Wars universe, there may be a law of physics that connects properties related to inertia, thrust, etc. to soundtrack requirements. Now, that’s my kind of physics…

  3. The weird thing is, your first paragraph of technobabble, er, explanation (about starships in STAR TREK) actually makes the most sense… ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for the rest (esp. about “banking and spinning” in STAR WARS to John Williams’ accompaniment) versus something more realistic, may I commend Dr. McCoy’s answer to some other assertion (bonus points if you remember which one): “Before you knock it, why don’t you try it?” ๐Ÿ™‚

    BABYLON 5 managed (with ANDROMEDA) to make right-flying fighters and capital ships look pretty cool (and terrifying), and with an impressive backing score too. I think their creators took one look at Lucas’ banking and spinning craft and said, “Let’s show this looney how it’s done!” ๐Ÿ™‚

    (Ghastly, do you realize we are sitting up at one dark-o-the-clock trying to out-geek each other?!?)

  4. Howdy, again!

    For the record, my comment was written shortly after 5pm. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And as for Babylon 5 & Andromeda soundtracks, from what I remember of the former (have not seen much of the latter), the work (sound and visuals) was impressive, but Williams is a cut above. If any soundtrack were to demand changes in the laws of physics, it would be his.

  5. Yes, agreed: were it not for John Williams (and a very few others), Western classical music (as a developing tradition worth hearing) probably would be dead by now. He could make you believe that Superman could fly and Rebel fighters could bank. (And as for spinning, I forgot all about that turbo-laser strafing from the Death Star; evasive maneuvers are certainly allowed!)

    I’ve got an even better idea for a soundtrack calling for changes in the laws of physics (just in time for the Battle of the Great Day of God Almighty). See verse 32 in particular:

    (Isaiah 30:29 ESV) You shall have a song as in the night when a holy feast is kept, and gladness of heart, as when one sets out to the sound of the flute to go to the mountain of the LORD, to the Rock of Israel.

    (Isaiah 30:30 ESV) And the LORD will cause his majestic voice to be heard and the descending blow of his arm to be seen, in furious anger and a flame of devouring fire, with a cloudburst and storm and hailstones.

    (Isaiah 30:31 ESV) The Assyrians will be terror-stricken at the voice of the LORD, when he strikes with his rod.

    (Isaiah 30:32 ESV) And every stroke of the appointed staff that the LORD lays on them will be to the sound of tambourines and lyres. Battling with brandished arm, he will fight with them.

    (Isaiah 30:33 ESV) For a burning place has long been prepared; indeed, for the king it is made ready, its pyre made deep and wide, with fire and wood in abundance; the breath of the LORD, like a stream of sulfur, kindles it.

    I don’t mean to take up space endlessly on your blog, but I’ve been itching to spring this passage for years (decades!) on someone who would really appreciate it. Enjoy, meditate and tell me what you think!

  6. Wow, I don’t think I have ever really taken note (weak pun unintended) of that passage before! I will have to read that one again tonight and think on it. [Right now, I am too focused on getting through my e-mail backlog–only 105 more e-mails to go!] Really, thanks for passing that one on!

What are you thinking?

