Rooting for America’s Downfall?

With all of the bad news attached to America these days (and highlighted on this blog), I thought I would take some time to address a point.

Many of us who gather here and read these posts (and the church’s material, such as Tomorrow’s World magazine) or watch the telecast understand what is prophesied for the last days. We know that if America (and it’s British-descended siblings) doesn’t get its act together, it is in for some hard times. Harder times than it has ever seen before.

We also know that these things are a necessary occurrence before the return of Christ. And it’s certainly true that we want Christ to return! But does it mean that we root for the fall of the US?

No, it doesn’t. You know, I want the economic stimulus package to work. Does it seem odd that we’re in such a position that our government believes the key to surviving economically is for people to behave unwisely? Yes, it’s odd. (“Yes, things look potentially very bad for our economy. So spend, spend, spend!” Doesn’t sound like Mom & Dad’s advice to me…) Does it mean that I want it to fail? No.

Does it seem frightening that several of our major banks have felt it necessary to accept multiple tens of billions from foreign investors–even potentially hostile foreign investors–in order to stay afloat? Yes. Does it seem even more frightening that American sources of such capital were apparently nowhere to be found, and that the impression given is that if it were not for such massive capital sources outside our borders bailing us out we would be in even worse shape? Yes. Does this incredible dependency and lack of control of our own destiny add to the sense of a coming prophesied time when Israel (the modern US & Britain) is abandoned by her “lovers” and when she becomes the tail and not the head (e.g., Deut. 28:43-44)? Yes. But does it mean that I want these plans to fail? No.

Does it seem as though our military is losing respect in the eyes of our enemies, as they learn that what is (currently) the single greatest armed force in the world can be stymied and bloodied so effectively by nationless guerrillas and terrorists with improvised weapons? Yes. Does it seem as though the time described by Leviticus 26:16-17 nearer and one more element that composes the “pride of our power” (Lev. 26:19) is being broken before our eyes? Yes. But does that mean that I want us to fail in Iraq or in our efforts to parry Iran? Not at all.

Ideally, I want America to repent. I want America to seek out the God who gave her all she has, while she still has it. I want her to go to Him and ask for His paths and His ways. Should that not happen any time soon, I want America to continue to be strong enough to support the work of God and the proclamation of the Gospel in a powerful way. I see the dollar plummeting, but I do not want it to plummet. I see America becoming more of a burden on the world than a blessing, but I do not want it to be.

Yes, I want Christ’s return ASAP–even if that means a Tribulation beforehand, and difficult times for the nations of Jacob/Joseph (the US & former British commonwealth) and Judah (modern Israel & the Jews). Yes, when I see things that seem to fall in line with the times to come, I begin to turn my head upwards, reminded that my redemption is drawing nearer (Luke 21:28).

But we cannot be like Jonah, who preached a message of repentance from dead works to Nineveh but who hoped they would not repent, that destruction would come upon them and, perhaps, that their nation could not be the tool it was destined to be for the correction of his own people. In our warning message, we fill must be filled with hope — hope for our country and hope for our people.

And should the dollar rally, the economy turn around, or victory in Iraq finally be definitively claimed, then we should take the time to thank God for His mercy, for the opportunity such an oasis of circumstances would offer, and for the truth that the Lord “is longsuffering toward us, not willing that any should perish but that all should come to repentance” (2 Peter 3:9).

I hope these thoughts make sense. It just crossed my mind the other day that all of this talk about prophecy and the warning that God provides His people in scripture, as well as about the way circumstances seem to be falling into line with what one would expect based on Bible prophecy, could cause one to think we are rooting for America’s downfall. Nothing could be further from the truth.

I love my country, and I love her people. I will enjoy her victories and mourn her defeats. My spirit will bask in instances of her remaining nobility, just as it will sigh and cry at her abominations (cf. Ezekiel 9:4). I will thank God for the obedience and faithfulness of Abraham and the blessings He has provided for our father’s faith, but–in the words of Thomas Jefferson–I will also “tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just, that His justice cannot sleep forever.”

I hope these comments add a proper perspective to the posts that normally appear here in this blog.

Have a great Sabbath.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
For those who haven’t read our free booklet about the modern identity of ancient Israel, you ought to check out the online version, at least: The United States and Great Britain in Prophecy. Better yet, order a free booklet to be sent to you in the mail.

6 thoughts on “Rooting for America’s Downfall?

  1. Alex

    Howdy!

    Great post… we were discussing this issue after Sabbath services the other week. One of the brethren asked if America was to repent, would that change God’s plan?

    Obviously the answer (at least for the short term) is yes. Like God spared Nineveh when the Assyrians repented and Hezekiah’s life was prolonged when he turned to God.

    But another dimension comes into play… God’s 7000 year plan. If the nations do not repent and turn to God, He will begin to soften them with trials before the return of Jesus Christ.

    You are absolutely accurate… we do hope that America and the other nations of the world will WAKE UP!!! …before it is too late. But it does not look promising this close to the “alarm clock” going off.

    Have a great Sabbath.

    P.S. – I liked reading about the boys.

  2. Well said!

    We often focus on the U.S. and Britain on the one hand, and sometimes we will focus on the Jews on the other (although not nearly often enough, in my opinion). The pride of the State of Israel’s power is being broken too, and its moral state is far worse than many people imagine. I saw a hint of that during my recent visit, and have read of much more. For example, it is almost as if the current government is trying to commit national suicide. It is out of touch with its founding Zionist ideals on the one hand and even a decent respect for conservative religious ideals on the other. Its liberal belief in the perfectibility of man in the face of some very imperfect enemies borders on the insane.

    But may I point out that other nations we consider to be descendents of Jacob – France, Ireland, the Benelux countries, northwest Germany (from whence the Anglo-Saxon-Jutes anciently), Switzerland, and the Scandanavian countries (especially Sweden) – are on the cutting edge of disobedience to God far more than we Brits and Americans and have been for decades. And there they are, most of them, already part of the European Union, however more or less reluctantly. They too are already facing serious problems. When the real Gentile heart of the Beast is exposed, they will be in for the shock of their (in many cases, very cut-short) lives.

    Here are some apropos verses, of which you’ve probably thought already:

    (Amos 5:18 ESV) Woe to you who desire the day of the LORD! Why would you have the day of the LORD? It is darkness, and not light,
    (Amos 5:19 ESV) as if a man fled from a lion, and a bear met him, or went into the house and leaned his hand against the wall, and a serpent bit him.
    (Amos 5:20 ESV) Is not the day of the LORD darkness, and not light, and gloom with no brightness in it?

  3. I heard an Adventist radio program today, in which the guest claimed John Hagee wants the U.S. to invade Iran now — reasoning that will speed up the millennium, and that will be a good thing.

    I haven’t checked to see if that claim is accurate, but it wouldn’t surprise me if it was true.

  4. Regan

    I agree, emphatically. (note: I am not american, but south african living in australia… yay globalization… 😉

    If I may add, as Christians we yearn that all may repent. We do not (should not) desire the demise, suffering of any. (I Cor.13) However, the reality of prophecy fulfillment is an impetus for those that understand it to prepare and be ready (or a state of readiness – spiritually speaking).

    I spoke about this a few sabbaths ago. We should yearn in the depths of hearts that there was another way even though we know there really isn’t. (..even Christ asked the Father if there was another way out of his sacrifice, even though there wasn’t, why would He even ask if He knew the answer).

    Anyway, I thought I’d add my 2 cents.

    PS. Being a father of 3 (2 girls + 1 boy), I too enjoy your tales of the boys. Keep it coming.

  5. Craig

    Perhaps if Jonah had the proper attitude, we would be using him as the model today. We would be taking about “preaching the Jonah warning.” Since Nineveh was the only Biblical example of a large city-state actually repenting and turning to God, it should be our dream.

    Jonah sat there miserable, hoping that Israel’s enemy Nineveh would get what it deserved, then told God why he was angry. I knew you would forgive them “since you are a gracious God and merciful, slow to anger and abundant in steadfast love, and ready to relent from punishing” (NRSV).

    If Jonah had the mind of God he would have thrust his fist in the air and said to God, “Y-E-S!!! I DID IT! Look what WE did! I took your warning to Nineveh and they REPENTED! I saved 600,000 people! SIX HUNDRED THOUSAND LIVES—SAVED!!! Yes! YES!! YES!!!”

    My hope is that someday Wallace G. Smith will preach a message so powerfully inspired by God that 600,000 people—or better yet a whole nation, will repent and be saved from destruction. In that day, I will shout along with you “Y-E-S!!!”

    Unfortunately Mr. Smith, Nineveh was Gentile! Israelite nations, so it would seem from Biblical example, are just too stiff necked to repent.

What are you thinking?

