Sad News

My apologies if this is awkward or inappropriate.  I must admit that it feels odd, but so many of you have been a part of our lives through this blog that it feels as though I should say something.

I received word from my sister in Texas last night that my mother has died.  Consequently, we are packing the van and heading down there ASAP.  Actually, we would have left last night, but after getting packed and dressed we remembered that the van was in the shop.  This morning I was able to call and find out that they had not yet been able to begin work on the van, so my wife is picking it up right now as I type and we should be heading out within the hour.

I should, perhaps, say one thing here: the woman whom many of you met at the Feast of Tabernacles in Texas is not my mother — that is my mother-in-law.  Several I have spoken to since the events of last November have expressed concern that the wonderful lady they met in New Braunfels was the one about whom I was speaking, so we thought this was as good a place as any to let people know that the woman they met was my wife’s mother, and she is doing just fine.  My step-father, mother, and sister are not in the church, though they have been very supportive of us — both of our beliefs and of my move into the ministry.

So many of you have asked over the last month-and-a-half how my mother was doing and had sent her a card wishing her well and telling her you were praying for her, and I wanted to say that your concern has been very much appreciated — thank you, so much.  Her last doctor visit with her cardiologist was just a week ago; the outlook seemed good, and our hopes were very high that her recovery would continue to go well.  So, while on one hand this is to a great degree a shock for my family, at the same time we have understood that there was always a possibility of something like this occurring.

Again, please forgive me if this post is inappropriate or awkwardly worded.  I will admit that I am not thinking as clearly this morning as I like to think that I normally do.

I will not be posting for a few days, as we will be in Texas taking care things and spending time with my family.

Finally, if you have an opportunity today, share your love with those close to you, and let them know how much they mean to you.  And if you don’t think you have such an opportunity today, please consider creating such an opportunity.  The tomorrows we wait for do not always arrive.

9 thoughts on “Sad News

  1. I am so sorry for your loss.

    not sure what is “awkward” or “inappropriate” anymore in this day and age that we live in . . . but I seriously think that this is as good a venue as any.

    My prayers are with you and your family . . .

  2. I am so sorry to hear that your mom passed away! Kay called us as soon as she got the news. You and your family are in our thoughts and prayers. Please give Jeanine a hug for me.

  3. Carol De Leon

    I just got the word this morning and I wanted to tell you how very sorry Caitlin and I are. I love what you said at the end of your note about letting loved ones know how much they are loved and how we need to always make time for them. You are so right. We always think there is time to fit things and people in our life, but sometimes we wait until it is too late. I have done this myself and know the regret. We will pray that you all have a safe trip down here and please know we all love you and want to help in any way we can. It is a wonderful thing to know that God is holding you and your family real tight right now.

    Love and hugs to all of you and your family here in Dallas as well.

    Carol and Caitlin De Leon

  4. Craig

    All I can offer, with a lump in the throat and tears in the eyes, are prayers and well wishes for you and your family. I hope you may be able to preach a powerful message at the funeral that this is not the end for her—just the end of the beginning. Sell the dream, hope, and joy, Mr. Smith.

  5. Your post is neither awkward or inappropiate. We all face these things in life, and it’s very hard to deal with. Our hearts go out to you. May God bless you and help you.

  6. Ray Schaefer

    I am very sorry to hear about the death of your mother. I know that this must be a trial for you, yet knowing the truth of God, we have the comfort of knowing we will see our loved ones again. That doesn’t alleviate the pain of knowing we will not see them again for a long time, but we still can look forward to seeing them again after the resurrection. This is a hope that those in the world do not have in the same way we do. I am praying that God will comfort you and your entire family at this time.

  7. Hi Mr. Smith,

    In another thread I made some comments in response, and if I could copy them with my mouse I’d repost them here. I love the phrase in another post in this thread: “this is not the end, it’s the end of the beginning.” How very apt!

What are you thinking?

