And a happy one to you, too!

Psalm 100

Make a joyful shout to the LORD, all you lands!
Serve the LORD with gladness;
Come before His presence with singing.
Know that the LORD, He is God;
It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.

Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
And into His courts with praise.
Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.
For the LORD is good;
His mercy is everlasting,
And His truth endures to all generations.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Howdy, all!

I hope everyone’s Thanksgiving is going well!  I was going to write an article about the dollar, yesterday, but the arrival of friends from Texas eventually completely took over the day.  My apologies!

And the longer I am here at the computer spending time with friends and family at a distance, the longer I am not spending time with friends and family who are present, so I doubt that I will write much today or tomorrow.  But I did want to take the time to wish all of you a happy Thanksgiving — at least in the U.S., where we are celebrating Thanksgiving today.  Those of you in other areas of the world are certainly free to be thankful today, as well! 🙂

I think that an attitude of thankfulness is something generally lacking today in the world, and if it’s lacking in the world, it tends to be lacking in the Church, as well, as we cannot help but be affected by the attitudes around us.  I hope that we are resisting that and taking the time to really look at the many things we have to be thankful about.

It has been my personal desire for some time to develop what I call (for lack of a better word) a deep thankfulness — a thankfulness that is rooted in more than the presence of nice things around me, a collections of wonderful family and friends, a roof over my head, food for my belly.  Thankful for God’s forgiveness, spirit, way of life and coming Kingdom?  Absolutely!  But thankful for the trials I have undergone, am undergoing, and will undergo (say with an eye toward James 1:2 or Acts 5:41)?  Not a sappy, brainless, “Oh goody: suffering!” sort of “thankful,” but a having relationship with God that enables me not just to feel that a trial is to be endured but to be embraced…  That sort of thankfulness?  Frankly, I think I am still working on that.

How did I get into all of that?  I didn’t mean to get preachy (believe it or not), but that topic has been on my mind recently.  Not long enough for me to articulate it well, yet, so I probably shouldn’t have brought it up, but there you go! 🙂

I am so blessed in so many ways — more blessed than I could ever deserve to be — and I will try today to communicate my thanks to God as best I can!  Sharing the day with those through whom God has given me so many of those blessings will be a big part of that effort, and I hope that you have the chance to do the same today as well.

Take care, and have a great Thanksgiving!
Wallace Smith

2 thoughts on “And a happy one to you, too!

  1. Greetings Mr. Smith,

    This time my Website link goes to a YouTube video I made, as based on a 1986 NPR Morning Edition broadcast (“Song of Songs”) about Suzanne Haik-Vantoura’s work, “The Music of the Bible Revealed”. I hope that people can access the video by this means.

    What follows is a direct link to a video I made based on Psalm 100 (in Hebrew, as reconstructed “melopoetically” by SHV, with English transliteration and translation):

    I hope that you will bring us good news on your return so we can add to our thankfulness. Be sure to update us, no matter what happens, and God be with you and your family!

    שלום
    יוחנן רכב

  2. I used to read that Psalm aloud when I was a boy, before I led the prayer over Thanksgiving dinner.

    Hoping you’re still giving thanks, weeks later!

What are you thinking?

