Lesser known quotes about glitter

Still putting out fires and catching up from being gone to Pre-Teen camp last week… There at camp, some of the kids discovered one of my personal dislikes: glitter. Why do we have glitter? I mean, what if that stuff got in your eye?

My wife & kids think I am paranoid about it, but I’ve discovered a host of quotes from famous people that show I’m not alone in my thinking. Consider this small collection…

  • “I never met a man I didn’t like, unless he was carrying some glitter.” – Will Rogers
  • “Imagination is more important than knowledge, but just a little glitter will make both useless.” – Albert Einstein
  • “Truth alone will endure. Well, truth and glitter. You just can’t get rid of that stuff.” – “Mahatma” Gandhi
  • “You won’t have Nixon to kick around or throw glitter at anymore.” – Richard Nixon
  • “That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind. And thankfully, no glitter in sight.” – Neil Armstrong
  • “All that glitters is not gold. And if it actually is glitter, watch out! You might get it in your eye!” – John Dryden
  • “Ask not what your country can do for you, ask what you can do for your country… particularly in the area of glitter containment and disposal.” – President John F. Kennedy

Need I say more?

20 thoughts on “Lesser known quotes about glitter

  1. Howdy, Summer —

    Apparently, God has decided that will not be a problem for us. With four boys, now, it seems that my wife and I just don’t know how to make girls. Either God thinks we are good at training boys, or we keep messing them up and He keeps giving us additional chances! πŸ™‚

    Still, though boys they may be they have certainly picked up on Dad’s glitterphobia. Shopping for greetings cards at the store, I get a lot of, “Hey Dad–look at THIS CARD!” at which point I do not even need to look. It’s going to have a lot of glitter.

    Perhaps Christ will let me declare my “mansion” in His Kingdom to be a glitter-free zone. πŸ™‚

  2. Sue

    So, is it sparkely stuff in general that you dislike or just glitter? I stumbled across an interesting quote myself.

    “Diamonds!!… Diamonds!!…
    – I don’t mean rhinestones –
    But Diamonds and glitter are A Girl’s Best, Best Friend ” – Marilyn Monroe

    or something like that πŸ™‚

  3. Glitter becomes a problem in my classroom from time to time, so I might have to post those quotes because I am sure the students will assume they are all accurate.

  4. THE MERCHANT OF VENICE
    Act II, Scene 7
    William Shakespeare

    MOROCCO
    …A carrion Death, within whose empty eye
    There is a written scroll! I’ll read the writing.

    Reads

    All that glitters is not gold;
    Often have you heard that told:
    Many a man his life hath sold
    But my outside to behold:
    Gilded tombs do worms enfold.
    Had you been as wise as bold,
    Young in limbs, in judgment old,
    Your answer had not been inscroll’d:
    Fare you well; your suit is cold.
    Cold, indeed; and labour lost:
    Then, farewell, heat, and welcome, frost!
    Portia, adieu. I have too grieved a heart
    To take a tedious leave: thus losers part.

    Exit with his train. Flourish of cornets

  5. Merrilee

    Welcome back. Consider yourself blessed to have all boys & no daughters…in regards to glitter. I did get some in my eye as a child . How? It comes in the form of glitter aerosol hair spray – brilliant invention! Yes, sticky glitter under pressure sprayed right at your face. ha ha It felt like a piece was stuck in there for years! =]

  6. For the record, I avoided the Merchant of Venice because I have found that Bill is more commonly quoted as saying “All that glisters” as opposed to “glitters.” Still, there is a more direct quote from Bill in which glitter is addressed: Hamlet’s famous soliloquy…

    To be, or not to be–that is the question:
    Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
    The presence of glitter on one’s skin or cheek
    Or to take arms against a sea of troubles
    And by opposing end them. Booooooo glitter.

    Perhaps I should have used that one…

  7. Jake

    I’ve always been fond of this one: “And those who turn many to righteousness will glitter like the sun.”

  8. Glitterati

    Then there’s the (in)famous quote by Gen. Douglas MacArthur, which has been ruthlessly suppressed (and sometimes even altered) by fans of glitter:

    “Men since the beginning of time have sought shiny things. Various methods through the ages have been attempted to devise an international process to prevent or settle disputes inflamed by glitter. From the very start, workable methods were found insofar as individual flecks of shiny plastic were concerned, but the mechanics of an instrumentality of larger international scope have never been successful. Military alliances, balances of power, leagues of nations, all in turn failed, leaving the only path to be by way of the crucible of glitter. The utter destructiveness of glitter now blocks out this alternative. We have had our last chance. If we will not devise some greater and more equitable system, our Armageddon will be at our door.”

  9. As I recall, one of the nicknames for Las Vegas is “glitter gulch.” Maybe that’s where all that stuff needs to be left.

    But many people join you, in rejecting “Glitter.” That was Mariah Carey’s only attempt at movie stardom — and it flopped.

  10. ducky

    Why do we have glitter? Because glitter is pretty and shiny and glittery. That’s pretty much all I can come up with. I love the stuff, but hey, I’m a girl πŸ™‚

  11. Hi Mr. Smith,

    Also for the record, the text I quoted it is “as is” from an online site called THE COMPLETE WORKS OF WILLIAM SHAKESPEARE. If “glisters” was changed to “glitters”, it was not by me. (I thought I remembered “glisters” too, but I figured that the editors knew better…)

    The world must be getting very serious out there…just look at the responses this utterly trivial (???) topic is getting. We must feel the need to relieve some stress. πŸ˜€

  12. Howdy, Mr. Wheeler —

    That, or the public is finally waking up to the true menace of glitter. I had no idea that there was such a strong sentiment out there, but now that it’s been unleashed perhaps some good can finally be done. As a wise man once said, “All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men to do nothing about glitter.”

    — Wallace Smith

  13. Hi again, Mr. Smith…

    I’m loving all these quotes, but that last one (by you) was the crowning touch!

    Well, NOW you’ve done it. You have forced me to resort to that ultimate, glittery tool of technological mass destruction: the Google Search! πŸ˜€

    Among the many URLs that came up from a simple search for “glitter quotes” (not the exact phrase, just the words), this very interesting page came up:

    http://thinkexist.com/quotes/with/keyword/glitter/

    Why, there is even this quote therein from somewhere in the Book of Ezekiel (KJV):

    β€œAgain the word of the LORD came unto me, saying, Son of man, prophesy, and say, Thus saith the LORD; Say, A sword, a sword is sharpened, and also furbished: It is sharpened to make a sore slaughter; it is furbished that it may glitter: should we then make mirth? it contemneth the rod of my son, as every tree.”

    Maybe the problem really is worse than I thought.

  14. And then there’s this other glittery tool of technological mass destruction:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glitter

    “Glitter is commonly used as an element of Christmas decorations, and…was invented by Mister Ruschman on his Hereford cattle farm in Bernardsville, New Jersey shortly after World War II. Today the company he founded – Meadowbrook Inventions – is the world’s leading manufacturer and supplier of glitter and has been for over fifty years.”

    Well, there you are. Not only is glitter quasi-pagan, it’s quasi-monopolistic.

  15. Glitterati

    Does anybody else here remember the old Woodsy Owl (“Give a hoot, don’t pollute!”) public service announcements, sponsored by the U.S. Forest Service? My memory may be failing me, but I’m pretty sure I recall Woodsy’s admonitions, “Don’t glitter!” and “Every glitter bit hurts!”

    And it was no less a luminary than former U.S. President Ronald Reagan who had the courage to face down the awesome might of the Soviet Union, uttering those famous words “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down that glitter!”

  16. I *do* remember those Woodsy commercials! Too bad so many seem to have forgotten.

    And, believe it or not, my wife was recommending just the other day that I add that Reagan quote about glitter to this list. A remarkable president, a remarkable man, a remarkable love for freedom, and a remarkable hatred for glitter. What a guy.

  17. Pingback: My kind of town (except for some cabbies), Chicago is… « Thoughts En Route

What are you thinking?

