A proverb to mull over

Howdy, all!  Planning for pre-teen camp has taken its toll on my blog posting (as well as on many other things), so my apologies if you have been checking faithfully for new comments.  But it is nice to be blessed with work, and I am very much looking forward to the start of camp this Sunday.  It looks as though we are going to have a great bunch of kiddos and that the staff is top notch.  (The director, maybe not so much so…)

Since I will be in the woods for a week, I wouldn’t expect any posting (unless the woodland creatures out there have established their own WiFi network) and I will be unable to moderate comments.

So, here is one last thought before I go.  It is the last comment I added to our Sabbath announcements for services tomorrow (or, technically, today), and concerns one of the lessons I have learned.  See you in about a week!

[Your prayers for the success of the camp would be greatly appreciated.  And for those of you needing a little something extra to pray about, I would personally appreciate a tick-free camping experience this time around. 🙂 ]
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

One of the many lessons I have learned so far this first year in directing camp is that I need to be better prepared for surprises.  When we make our plans, our schedules, etc., too “tight” and rigid and without sufficient margins or PADs (actuary talk: Provisions for Adverse Deviations), they are generally not flexible enough to handle the obstacles that will, it seems, invariably arrive.

Proverbs 22:3 says, “A prudent man foresees evil [or calamity] and hides himself, but the simple pass on and are punished.”  It is an important enough point that God says it a second time – almost verbatim – in Proverbs 27:12.  Foreseeing evil or calamity includes looking ahead to what obstacles could potentially arise, and in this sense “hiding” involves protecting yourself by planning early and well.  No one can see perfectly into the future (at least none of us earth-bound folk!), but with the help of God and the counsel He provides–through His word and through our fellow brethren (Proverbs 15:22)–we can look far enough to plan prudently, if not perfectly.

Planning for camp this year has really brought home the admonition of this proverb, and I recommend it here for your own meditation.  I only hope that the lesson will last with me even after the final camper is on his way back home.

What are you thinking?

