In praise of spam blockers

This is just a quick note of praise for spam blockers.  WordPress uses Akismet, and while every rare once in a while an innocent comment gets filtered out (I only know of two individuals who had their comments disappear), it has been remarkably effective.  I just took a look at some of the more than 3,500 spam “comments” that it has in its dirty little filter, and I am SO THANKFUL that such garbage doesn’t make it to my blog.  Some of it is so disgusting that I don’t even want to mention it publicly (taking a cue from Paul’s admonition in Ephesians 5:12 about things of which it is shameful to speak).

So, my apologies if you accidentally and innocently get caught in the net, but I sure am thankful for the service.  Thanks, WordPress and Akismet!

What are you thinking?

