History, Technology

Experience 18 minutes of raw history: Man landing on the moon

What a treat! My thanks to DC for sending me the link to this, and a big hat tip to Watts Up With That? for posting a link to it.

The website firstmenonthemoon.com has assembled an “experience it as it happened” opportunity as you watch video footage from the first orbital lander synced with the dialog going on at Mission Control and the dialog with the astronauts themselves, along with graphics indicating who is talking at each point, an indicator of the landing’s pitch at each moment, and even a reading of Neil Armstrong’s heartrate as it fluctuated throughout the experience.

Almost brought me to tears watching the whole thing with Boy #2. Click on the graphic below to watch it for yourself, and thanks, again, to DC for passing it along!

MoonLandingExperience

About Wallace G. Smith

Pastor for the Living Church of God (www.lcg.org) and a presenter on the Tomorrow's World television program (www.tomorrowsworld.org).

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Experience 18 minutes of raw history: Man landing on the moon

  1. This was great. The planned landing site turned out to be a boulder strewn field, so Neil Armstrong goes manual, does a couple of weird maneuvers, and lands with twenty five seconds of fuel left. Despite the technical talk by Houston control, you can hear the tension in their voices. “We had a lot of guys turning blue…” Now, why can’t Hollywood make a movie out of this??

    Posted by Steve | May 3, 2013, 2:32 pm
  2. Actually, I think Ron Howard, Brian Grazer, Tom Hanks, and Michael Bostick did: “From Earth to the Moon” (1998). Actually, I’ve never seen even one episode of that miniseries. Has anyone? Is it any good?

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | May 3, 2013, 3:21 pm
  3. I was ten years old when I watched this and I could barely keep myself awake – not because of lack of interest (quite the contrary!), but because it was way past my then-bedtime. But I wouldn’t have missed it for the world.

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | May 3, 2013, 3:32 pm
  4. Thank you for posting, this was very interesting.

    Posted by Jerry White | May 3, 2013, 11:10 pm
  5. Thanks so much for posting this! I’m pretty sure I did miss this, even though I was so excited about the mission…..probably the bedtime issue that John mentioned. What year was this? It seems that this was going on close to my birthday, July 16

    Posted by Teresa | May 4, 2013, 9:13 pm
  6. It was 1969. When I was young, I always felt a little cheated that I was born in 1970 less that a year later, like it was unfair that I had missed it. Isn’t that dumb? :)

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | May 4, 2013, 10:18 pm
  7. You can probably find videos of the original broadcasts on YouTube. I was young teenager at the time, and it was way cool, man. It seemed as though time itself came to a stop. Half the planet from China to Australia watched it live on TV. There was a big feeling of hope that something better waited for humanity, beyond the petty bickering and wars on our little piece of dirt, and there was like a global shared yearning for it. That’s the thing I remember the most about the moon landing.

    Posted by Steve | May 4, 2013, 11:26 pm

What are you thinking?

Twitter Updates

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 566 other followers

