Tomorrow's World

Fantastic Tomorrow’s World taping today!

What a wonderful time I had taping a new Tomorrow’s World program today! I’m not sure when it will air, though I know there is a lag of a few months, and I have three “in the can” now that have not yet been completed in post-processing for broadcasting. Actually, it feels wonderfully strange for me to be this far “ahead”!

The crew did a top notch job. I believe it was Mr. Ray Pereira’s first time running the new jib camera on his own, having been trained by our consultants, and I thought he did great! The jib is a moving camera on a boom, as seen here in this tweet on my Twitter page:

(My apologies–I should have gotten more people in my pictures! I know “stuff” pictures tend to be boring.)

The jib is the second camera in our newly expanded collection which includes our previous, well-used Pedestal Camera 1 and its new sibling Ped Cam 2, who isn’t quite ready to be deployed (I’d say that Ped Cam 2 was still camera shy in an attempt to be funny, but we all know that wouldn’t be funny so I’m going to hold off…). So, today was another two-camera shoot instead of three-camera. On my side of the lens, as it were, it seemed like Keith and Ray did great jobs at both.

Really, everyone did their job wonderfully, and I thoroughly enjoyed the taping!

I also got just a few tiny glimpses at the new graphics being developed, and I really like the attention to detail that is going into the work. One of our consultants, LeAnne, noticed yesterday that in the title image (the title was “AFTER Christ’s Return?”, by the way, offering The World Ahead: What Will It Be Like?) the letters of the title would sometimes get a little lost when one moving image–one of a Bible, with the words “Holy Bible” in big letters on the spine–crossed behind it. The combination of title letters and the zoomed-in Bible spine letters came across visually like a slightly chaotic jumble. I actually had not noticed it until it was pointed out, but, sure enough, that was the case. So it was edited. That attention to little details, even if it only lasts a few seconds, has been great to witness and learn from, and it has been a real benefit to have these consultants working with us. The cumulative effect of such changes–camera angles, the height of the monitors, our standing marks, etc.–makes a real difference, methinks, and I can’t wait to begin seeing the results. I’m sure the first few products will seem a little awkward as we all adapt to doing things a little differently, but the direction things are headed looks remarkable to me, and I have really enjoyed working with in the upgraded environment! Same fantastic content (from the other presenters, at least!) but packaged in an even more professional setting. I believe we’ve had “apples of silver” for a long time, and, also for a long time, the tray has been moving increasingly toward “settings of gold.” These are long strides in that effort. And when Nielsen says that around 400,000 to 600,000 households watch our program each week, that effort is worth it.

Actually, I think the temporary help the consultants are providing remind me a lot of God’s inspiring King Solomon to bring in the Phoenician King Hiram of Tyre to build His Temple. Like Hiram’s, their expertise has been great to tap into and I appreciate them much! (And it isn’t lost on me that one of the great legacies of Mr. Herbert Armstrong’s “hiring out” for needed expertise back in the Ambassador College days was none other than our greatly-missed Mr. Dibar Apartian.)

Last year was an unusually great year for donations to the Work which has enabled us to put a number of things into place before harder times come. I wondered often last year how why we were being blessed so unusually abundantly when the economy was doing so poorly, and now I think I know! (Reminds me of the years of plenty and not-so-plenty under Joseph in Egypt.) Regardless, I’m thrilled with the innovation I am suddenly seeing in the Work, and it is exciting to be a part of it. I hope you are, too! Even if God should decide He needs to prune some things, every time He has done that so far the result has been a growth in the impact of His Work (cf. John 15:2). The shears may be sharp, but pruning by a God who takes His work seriously should be welcomed.

And the innovation and improvements don’t involve the television work, only–not by a long shot. While some things on the immediate horizon I won’t mention yet (part of my personal movie-watching culture: no spoilers!), other things like our astounding Facebook and social media work are really going like gangbusters! 42,135 “likes” on Facebook? 13,464 “talking about this” on Facebook? Very nice. I’ve heard some boast about Alexa rankings and other similar metrics–which, frankly, are fairly useless, especially among the COGs. But “likes” and Facebook activity are a wonderful measure because they are harder to artificially manipulate or to accidentally skew and are based on real FB accounts and real activity. And 31,163 Tomorrow’s World followers on Twitter? (“Spreading the gospel in 140 characters or less!” :) ) More than 400,000 subscribers to the printed magazine? 7,000 non-attendees watching Mr. Meredith’s very first live online presentation?

By some measures: drops in buckets. By other measures: the signs of something potentially amazing. Having read Malcolm Gladwell’s Tipping Point, it’s hard not to wonder if that’s what we are coming to–a tipping point. I can’t imagine that the devil would be happy about that, but I know that what happens next is–so very thankfully–not his call!

In so many ways, it seems as though God is moving His pieces on the board to position the Work for an amazing end game! And in every way, I see us earnestly striving to take advantage of every single avenue He makes available to us to get His message to the world. What a thrilling time to be a part of that Work!

Meditating on these sorts of things recently before coming up to do this telecast, it hit me that God’s Work is going to happen whether I am a part of it or not. I know that for a fact. Right know, I get to play a different role in it than I did the 20+ years before, and I know that things change and I may be asked by God to play a different role in the future. (If we ever go on to hologram channels, I’m sure I’ll be asked to step aside. Me in 3-D sounds like a horrible idea!) Regardless, the Work will go on with me or without me–something true of all of us, and I hope we are glad for it. God will accomplish His work. I hope that every one of us who have been invited to take part–in whatever way that might be, seemingly small or seemingly large–cherishes the invitation and that we throw ourselves into it in whatever way is available to us. I know that part of the boldness I feel during my time in front of the camera comes from the knowledge that so many of you have spent your time, on your knees, doing your part for the Work and praying for the telecast. I know that many of you have mentioned the telecast or website to a friend, or passed along a commentary by e-mail, or used your Facebook page to help an article reach a wider audience, or simply done what you could to support another brother in Christ with a good word to keep him encouraged as we all put our shoulder to the wheel–and it is a wonderful privilege to be a fellow worker with all of you in this humbling opportunity we all have, this gift of our Father and Elder Brother who ask us to share in Their very own work. Truly, a wonderful privilege.

My apologies for such rambling. (Ha! As if rambling is a rare thing on this blog!) I know that this post hasn’t been the most focused of this little blog, but now that my telecast is done my mind is “depressurizing” a bit by wandering around freely, though it’s a pleasant wandering. :) My apologies you had to wander too! It was my intent to just talk about the great shoot we had today, but my brain clearly went on a “walk about” for a bit…

Thanks so much for your prayers, thanks to the crew and our helpers for yet another amazing job, and thanks to our Dad and Brother in heaven, for inviting us to be a part of the amazing things They are doing down here!

About Wallace G. Smith

Pastor for the Living Church of God (www.lcg.org) and a presenter on the Tomorrow's World television program (www.tomorrowsworld.org).

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Fantastic Tomorrow’s World taping today!

  1. My apologies for such rambling. (Ha! As if rambling is a rare thing on this blog!) I know that this post hasn’t been the most focused of this little blog, but now that my telecast is done my mind is “depressurizing” a bit by wandering around freely, though it’s a pleasant wandering. :) My apologies you had to wander too! It was my intent to just talk about the great shoot we had today, but my brain clearly went on a “walk about” for a bit…

    And this is just one of the long list of funny statements you make. :D LOL I’d have to reprint your whole blog, very nearly, to list them all.

    Permission to speak freely? Thank you, Sir, Sir, yes, Sir! :D

    You don’t need to deny who and what you are, seriously. We both major in the Jungian cognitive process called Extraverted iNtuiting (a perceiving process; it’s how you or I prefer to decide what to do about what we perceive that differs). “Going on walkabout” is what our minds DO. :D Like any other faculty that we or others have, this has its weaknesses, but it also has its strengths.

    I gave a sermonette on the one hand and had a short story (Part Two of Three) just published on the other on a lesson we and everyone should learn from the Bible and from life (in the Bible, it has much to do with King Saul’s real failing). It’s false modesty for “people like us” to deny this simple truth about ourselves: the fact we can connect seemingly unrelated concepts from all over the map in a big picture, as you do here. I know that people who can do this well learn to fear the MEGO Syndrome they tend to induce, but if one is an explosion in a spaghetti factory waiting to happen, there still is good and not harm in embracing the fact while not letting that be an excuse to keep the mental boilers red-lined. :D

    I very much enjoy your blogs on any topic, both what they say and how they say it, and I very much appreciate this blog in particular. Don’t stop.That is an ORDER from the most senior officer aboard this ship, Ensign: THE CAT. Do NOT mess with THE CAT on this one, son. ;)

    http://kawaiphoto.net/wp-content/gallery/cute-kittens-sleeping/cutekittensleeping-0000.jpg

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | April 4, 2013, 11:30 pm
  2. Besides, there’s ANOTHER CAT that would be even MORE UPSET if false modesty overtook you in the name of avoiding true arrogance: :)

    http://fc06.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2011/272/d/9/the_lion_of_judah_by_phatpuppyart-d4ba8oi.jpg

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | April 4, 2013, 11:41 pm
  3. Reblogged this on The Chronicles of Johanan Rakkav and commented:
    In a comment I left for approval here: “I very much enjoy your blogs on any topic, both what they say and how they say it, and I very much appreciate this blog in particular. Don’t stop.That is an ORDER from the most senior officer aboard this ship, Ensign: THE CAT. Do NOT mess with THE CAT on this one, son.” ;)

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | April 4, 2013, 11:47 pm
  4. Not much time to respond, other than to say, “Don’t over-think it.” Apologies aren’t always for wrongdoings and serve other pleasant social functions, as well.

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | April 5, 2013, 8:07 am
  5. Heh, you got me on that one, Sir. When I apologize at least, it’s typically because something wrong HAS been done.

    Not so much over-thinking as over-evaulating? :P

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | April 5, 2013, 8:59 am
  6. No problem — I have my share of that kind, too. :)

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | April 5, 2013, 10:30 am
  7. Hi Mr. Smith: After a long ansence i’m back – the absence having been caused by my losing my password and being unable to gain access despite many efforts at using quite a few different PW’s. And I’m so pleased to be back.

    Now that I’m back I must say I’m really looking forward to viewing the revamped TW programmes and I take your obvious enthusiasism for the changed format and means of recording as a sure sign that viewers are in for a treat.

    Michael O’Byrne.

    Posted by obeirne | April 9, 2013, 1:05 pm
  8. Well, thanks! :) I’m sure it will take us a while to see the full impact of the things we’re doing, since there is a learning curve (using the cameras to their best effect, fully implementing the upgrades in graphics, the presenters getting used to the environment), but in every way the direction looks fantastic!

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | April 9, 2013, 5:11 pm
  9. Thanks for sharing, Mr. Smith! Exciting developments!

    Posted by Kathy Hall | April 14, 2013, 12:41 pm

What are you thinking?

Twitter Updates

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 554 other followers

