Christianity, Holy Days, Religion

Unleavened Ruminations

English: Loaves of bread at Stroud, Gloucester...

A soon-to-be-temporarily-declared “Big Pile O’ Sin” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today, instead of the regular pre-Sabbath chores my mother-in-law manages the boys through, they are beginning a bit of their deleavening, which (among other things) has me in a “Holy Day” frame of mind, today.

I still hope to do this year as I try (with varying degrees of success) to do every year and to list the lessons that come to mind while deleavening before the Days of Unleavened Bread. However, this has been a pretty crazy time, and the run up to the Holy Days doesn’t look as though it will be any less crazy, so I am preemptively posting this list, below, of previous posts in which I did just that, in the event that some might find their discussions of loaded donuts and taco bombs worthwhile. Hopefully there will be a 2013-edition to come, but if not, well, we’ll always have Paris.

BTW: Someone did tell me that this year they were going to write down lessons that come to them as they are deleavening, and I applaud that. I think it’s a neat element to add to the preparation for the Passover and the Spring Holy Days and helps encourage reflection. I used to do that, off and on, before turning this blog into my repository. And it’s a helpful reminder, too, to talk about these things with your kiddos, if you have any. It’s good to get them thinking about such things early!

Have a great Sabbath!

(Actually, you could just search “unleavened bread” on the blog by typing it in the search box at the top (or clicking on “unleavened bread” anywhere in this sentence!), which will list every mention of it on the blog. I did so and was surprised! It’s a much longer list than the eight I have above.)

About Wallace G. Smith

Pastor for the Living Church of God (www.lcg.org) and a presenter on the Tomorrow's World television program (www.tomorrowsworld.org).

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Unleavened Ruminations

  1. As opposed to half-baked ones? ;)

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | March 8, 2013, 10:17 am
  2. Ha! Actually, I make no assurances that the ruminations are thoroughly baked. Let the chewer beware.

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | March 8, 2013, 10:19 am
  3. Love the picture of the breads, and the description for it! Too funny!

    Posted by webrown70 | March 8, 2013, 4:56 pm
  4. Lesson for today… As I finished up sweeping the guest room I looked over my clean progress! It looked lovely! Then out of the corner of my eye I catch a flash. There is my two year old, pieces of leftover snack toast in both fists, dropping crumbs with each step as she skips about my perfection , blissfully unaware of the repercussions…. The lesson: beware of those people in our lives, however cute they may be, who bring that sin right back after we work so hard to get rid of it!

    Posted by Lisa Pape | March 14, 2013, 11:32 am
  5. Ha! I can see the picture in my mind! :) Very cute — and educational!

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | March 14, 2013, 12:26 pm
  6. Indeed! Unfortunately I have no one to blame but myself. :D

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | March 14, 2013, 12:37 pm

What are you thinking?

Twitter Updates

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 579 other followers

