Culture, Entertainment, Religion, Sports

Apparently, the Super Bowl cometh…

Look, on the table! It's a dish! It's a wok! No, it's Super Bowl!

Look, on the table! It’s a dish! It’s a wok! No, it’s Super Bowl!

So, Super Bowl XLVII is this weekend! Believe it or not, I truly had no idea until today, though I did know it was coming up. (A theme of my life, apparently. Is it always the first Sunday in February, now?) And, believe it or not, I don’t know who’s playing, other than that I know it is not the Cincinnati Bengals, the Cleveland Browns, the Dallas Stars, the Texas Rangers, or the Flying Wallendas. I will, however, look it up in the newspaper or Google shortly after this post so that my citizenship as an American is not suddenly revoked.

(In other news, the Wallendas had the adjective “Flying” attached to their name after an incident in Akron, Ohio. Yes, I knew that you always wanted to know that.)

Every year when it comes around, I discuss whether or not we will watch it, and this year I suspect we will still be on the road coming home from Pittsburgh, so if it makes the driving less congested, all the better! We’ve had several posts here on the blog about football–whether it’s a sin to watch it, will there be football in the millennium, the crime of putting bounties on opposing teammates where thugs are paid to hurt others, how it provides lively Spokesman Club table topics fare, how elderly ladies can wrongly be made to feel guilty for enjoying it, and how local communities should be warned when nerds throw footballs–and rather than make (yet) another post, I thought I would simply list previous discussions for those who might be interested. And while I think I have addressed it before in at least one of the previous posts, I am sympathetic to the argument that the football players should go back to wearing leather hats instead of the helmets they use today, or even outer-padded helmets. There are a number of sports which could probably be made safer in a number of ways–professional pencil sharpening, for instance–and American football is clearly one of them. (As discussed, below, though: does that make the sport inherently sinful? Not at all. If something done unwisely made it inherently sinful, we’d all be in a lot more trouble than we are.)

On to the posts…

That’s all for today. Have a wonderful Sabbath!

About Wallace G. Smith

Pastor for the Living Church of God (www.lcg.org) and a presenter on the Tomorrow's World television program (www.tomorrowsworld.org).

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Apparently, the Super Bowl cometh…

  1. Hi again, Mr. Smith! I didn’t know the Stupor Brawl, uh, Super Bowl was coming up either – that’s what I get for having ZERO team loyalties (except, to a point, for Apple mobile products and their “ecosystem”, and that only because I find the ensemble so applicable to me). ;) Anyway, I will be fascinated one day to see what we will do with various team sports in the Millennium.

    Food for thought: In That Day, why not stick with touch football, with those nifty flags on the waist? I played that at AC Pasadena. It’s fun, it’s something even someone like me can play (in fact in those days, I had advantages that worked for me, speed, maneuverability and sheer determination being among them), and it doesn’t involve a lot of head-butting etc. :D

    More food for thought: I love this saying from a travel guide written about Great Britain by Londoners – it’s said to be a proverb from that country. “Rugby is a thug’s game played by gentlemen; football [soccer] is a gentleman’s game played by thugs.” Both have their notorious elements of roughness, in this world, but I’d have to agree: at least that genre of game isn’t inherently sinful. While there have to be winners and losers in such games, in the end, they are “just a game” and not like the kind of competition that causes people’s lives to be changed for the radically worse (or “better” at the expense of the worse).

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | February 1, 2013, 1:08 pm
  2. I like the graphic. That’d be one super chili in that supper bowl.

    Posted by Lyndell | February 1, 2013, 1:10 pm
  3. Especially if you made it, Lyndell. Nuclear Chili in a Super Bowl. Maybe you’d have to call it Kryptonite Chili. ;)

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | February 1, 2013, 1:22 pm
  4. I’ve been a major football nut since I was a kid. Love the strategy of the game. Having kids of your own changes the picture, however. I’m afraid that the pressure to succeed and the millions of dollars involved has made football excessively violent. Does forbidding one’s own kids from playing tackle football then make you a little bit of a hypocrite? You bet it does.

    I’ve become more interested in baseball after watching the boys play. It actually has more strategy than football does, except that it takes place on a much more subtle level. There’s a major chess game that takes place between batter and pitcher, for example. Being a neophyte, it took me some time to pick up on the subtle strategies, but it can get pretty intense.

    I’ll probably tune into the Super Bowl towards the end of the game. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with tackle football itself, but I do think the excessive violence is a little out hand.

    Posted by steve | February 1, 2013, 4:36 pm
  5. I like watching football and miss it now that we are with only RoKu. I would like to see the game on Sunday but I won’t miss the commericals and the half time….seldom find them worth much of anything.

    Posted by Christine Featherston | February 1, 2013, 6:49 pm
  6. The Super Bowl always brings back fond memories of my dad watching it when we were young. He was a true son of Baltimore and loved watching the Baltimore Colts while Johnny Unitas was still playing with them. He’d get a headache every time from watching TV too long, but would cheer loudly when the Colts made a touchdown. It wasn’t a great time to ask too many questions about football, how it was played, etc, etc, because a great play might be missed in the interim. When I was 7, I probably had fleeting dreams of becoming the next Johnny Unitas, but “throwing like a girl” made it pretty obvious that my calling was elsewhere. :)

    Posted by Teresa | February 2, 2013, 9:45 am

What are you thinking?

Twitter Updates

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 553 other followers

