History, Prophecy, Religion

Rediscovering my blog & final 2012 Non-pocalypse thoughts

Howdy, everyone! My apologies–wow, it’s been the better part of a month! I did not mean to abandon my blog for so long, but December was crazy busy, so my time was better spent elsewhere. I was able to tape two new Tomorrow’s World programs during that time, though, as well as attend the wonderful Charlotte weekend with my family.

Among the things I’ve been itching to post about is, believe it or not, 2012. Charlotte published my last commentary on the subject–“After the Non-pocalypse”–on December 20, and I wanted to write something here about the lessons I have learned in being, for what it’s worth, the Church’s “2012 guy” (as Mrs. Ogwyn once called me, I believe). I actually began writing something about those lessons learned over the week I was working on telecasts and during the Charlotte weekend, but it grew so large that I have not finished it and now wonder if it is worth the effort!

I did learn a great deal, though–mostly about academic integrity and how lost some can get if they don’t maintain it. Literally every modern work I saw which claimed the Maya really did predict the end of the world in 2012 did, in some way, lack academic integrity or honesty. In this matter, I am glad that God’s Church and Work avoided shabby “research” and hewed to the most credible position: That by all appearances the ancient Maya never did predict the 2012 event that New Agers and hobbyists claimed they did (or, for that matter, what the sensationalist profit-seekers at the History Channel may have claimed they did).

And, of course, I am even more pleased that we didn’t get lost in the woods, so to speak. The thing to say about 2012 is not, “Oooooo, look at what some pagans and hippies think”–rather, it is that such stuff is junk and that the Bible, alone, should be our guide concerning prophecy. In this sense, what the Mayans said or didn’t say is irrelevant.

So, now that 2012 stuff is going the way of the dodo, I can say that I am pleased the Church stood for the truth as completely as possible: Both biblical truth and academic truth. It made our position the most credible it could be and, hopefully, added power to the message we were trying to deliver (which is, of course, God’s and not ours!).

My thanks to the Church member who sent me that e-mail some years ago, now, encouraging me to do a telecast on 2012 because of the confusion he saw in his acquaintances on the matter! Now that it is over, I can say that it has been a wonderful mixture of fun and frustration and a real learning opportunity, and I am thankful to have been able to serve in this way.

But if the Inca said anything about 2014, please don’t tell me about it…

About Wallace G. Smith

Pastor for the Living Church of God (www.lcg.org) and a presenter on the Tomorrow's World television program (www.tomorrowsworld.org).

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Rediscovering my blog & final 2012 Non-pocalypse thoughts

  1. Welcome back! :D

    OK, I won’t. But expect “blood moons” to replace this nonsense in at least some quarters, if what I hear from our PCD is any indication. And guess who gets to deal with THAT? You bet: “the Hebrew student”. :D

    Thanks for all you do in keeping us sane and sound in the Lord.

    (יוחנן רכב הסופר)

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | January 1, 2013, 11:06 am
  2. Wikipedia has a long list of these. None listed mentioning Inca, nor 2014. Though in May…third time’s a charm, right?

    Posted by Lyndell | January 1, 2013, 12:06 pm
  3. I think a lot of the false prophecies and false hype about 2012 in the news and entertainment media is inspired by Satan to make people be skeptical about ANY teaching about prophecy, so when the Church preaches the truth, people will associate us with all the crazy “prophecies” they have heard in the past which have failed. Likewise, the media focuses attention on global warming so that people will blame weather upsets on carbon dioxide emissions, not on correction from God for our sins. They will think the solution is to reduce emissions, not repent of our sins.

    Satan knows to some extent what is coming, the warnings, the punishments, and he is using the news and entertainment industry to condition people to misinterpret or ignore warnings so that the nation does not repent.

    Posted by author | January 1, 2013, 3:24 pm
  4. Howdy, again, author, and I agree with your comment about false prophecy. I addressed that in a commentary for Tomorrow’s World titled, “Are You Cynical About Prophecy?” I do think Satan wants people scoffing at “prophecy” so that true prophecy is dismissed. That is one reason, among many, that I took such a hard line on the 2012 nonsense.

    Posted by Wallace G. Smith | January 1, 2013, 3:30 pm
  5. The following is nothing new (Mr. Smith and author), but consider the morals and ethics that will lie behind this eventuality:

    (Rev 9:3 RSV) Then from the smoke came locusts on the earth, and they were given power like the power of scorpions of the earth;
    (Rev 9:4 RSV) they were told not to harm the grass of the earth or any green growth or any tree, but only those of mankind who have not the seal of God upon their foreheads;
    (Rev 9:5 RSV) they were allowed to torture them for five months, but not to kill them, and their torture was like the torture of a scorpion, when it stings a man.
    (Rev 9:6 RSV) And in those days men will seek death and will not find it; they will long to die, and death will fly from them.

    It’s all too easy for me now to imagine such circumstances arising in the foreseeable future. And to think this was written two millennia ago…

    Posted by John Wheeler (Johanan Rakkav) | January 1, 2013, 3:54 pm

What are you thinking?

Twitter Updates

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

